You are here

New Mixpre-3 Need help!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:44 pm

Ariosto wrote:I did go to system preferences but it only allows recognised developers, but I tried again just now and it came up with "install anyway" and it seems to have worked. Many thanks.

That's it. As I say you've got half an hour after the install attempt to select "install anyway". It's a neat idea, but it could be better documented I have to say.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6319
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:23 pm

Don't know why, I'm only moderately computer literate, but I've never had a problem with this.....
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7915
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:48 am

Bob Bickerton wrote:Sounds like you’d be better off with the MixPre-3m which is also cheaper. As has been said, it produces individual WAV files instead of PolyWAV. Are you able to swap out the unit with the supplier? You’ll miss out on a few options designed for pro-film work but maybe that’s not a problem for you. Do read up first though ;)

Other than that it would appear the unit is working to specification. Which is sublime! My concert recording kit now consists of a relatively small Pelican case with a MixPre-10m, all the mics I need, headphones and mic clips - so easy!

I also have the MixPre-3 for outdoor soundscape work which is very good too. Yes the on/off switch is fiddley, but fine once you get used to it, and rather that than something which can be easily switched off by mistake.

I find the menu structure to be very easy to work, easier than the Zoom F range, but again you need to be familiar with it or read the manual ;)

Bob
Hi Bob

Thanks for the info. I found the Mixpre-3 to be cheaper than the "M" version. But I could buy the M version software (or firmware) as a download.

I did have a good look at the manual before purchase and this is a quote from it:-

In Advanced Mode, the MixPre-3 is configured as a five-channel recorder with user-selectable 44.1, 48, and 96kHz sample rate and 16 and 24bit depth.
The LR mix tracks may be recorded as well as each of the three channels as individual isolated (ISO) tracks. Audio for the ISO tracks is recorded “prefade” meaning before the channel knob gain, so any changes that are made there will only affect the LR mix and have no affect on the recorded ISO track levels. This is particularly useful for post-production audio processing where it may be desirable to remix of the tracks at a later stage.


I think I can work round these issues and the recorded quality is excellent, and I think there must be a way in Reaper of getting and processing the individual tracks.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Mike Stranks » Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:45 am

I think you'll find that if you use this: https://www.sounddevices.com/products/accessories/software/wave-agent

you'll be able to access individual files and then use them in Reaper.
User avatar
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5809
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:19 am

How to split multi-channel (polywav) audio in Reaper video

https://reaperblog.net/2015/09/quick-tip-how-to-split-multi-channel-audio/
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 22122
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:46 pm

Many thanks for all the suggestions. I will try them all.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:17 pm

Works wonderfully in Wave Agent from Sound Devices - managed to split files into separate tracks - L stereo R-stereo and mono channel 1.

Thanks for all the ideas and help. I've also got used to the screen and fiddly bits, and navigation is easy now.

And the sound quality is fantastic!
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:53 pm

:clap: :thumbup: 8-)
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 22122
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Mike Stranks » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:18 pm

Excellent!

When I first encountered polywavs I was a bit banjaxed... all part of life's learning. Glad you're back on course now and pleased that you're realising the potential of that great little machine.

:thumbup:
User avatar
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5809
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Bob Bickerton » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:14 pm

Yes, pleased it's all making sense, I think you'll really enjoy it.

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3592
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
http://www.bickerton.co.nz

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby CS70 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:11 pm

[quote="Ariosto"]Just received new Mixpre-3 and a bit disappointed by the minute size!/quote]

Just carried a mountain backpack worth of kit around, that sounds like heaven to me :)

I'm sure with the help of the chaps here you will come on top. Best of luck!
User avatar
CS70
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3068
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:27 pm

Just downloaded Waveagent as I can see how it could be useful. However when I tried to install it I told me it would reboot my Mac. I bailed out at that point because I don't see why utility programs should be digging that deep into my OS. I've sent a question to Sound Devices support and I'll report back with what they say.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6319
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Mike Stranks » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:51 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:Just downloaded Waveagent as I can see how it could be useful. However when I tried to install it I told me it would reboot my Mac. I bailed out at that point because I don't see why utility programs should be digging that deep into my OS. I've sent a question to Sound Devices support and I'll report back with what they say.

CC

Can't speak for Macs, Chris, but it's done my PC no harm. I can't remember whether/not it wanted a reboot when I installed it...
User avatar
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5809
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Cirencester, Gloucestershire, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Bob Bickerton » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:15 am

Installed just fine on my Mac, but can’t remember whether it required a reboot.......

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3592
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
http://www.bickerton.co.nz

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:30 am

Yes, it did require the mac to re-boot, but it all seemed to pass smoothly and the re-boot just seemed like a normal start up, no extra faffing around, so I had no worries, at least so far.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:10 pm

Well that's reassuring. Not heard from support yet but a weekend's just gone so that's understandable.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6319
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby wireman » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:33 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:Just downloaded Waveagent as I can see how it could be useful. However when I tried to install it I told me it would reboot my Mac. I bailed out at that point because I don't see why utility programs should be digging that deep into my OS.

If you installed the version that can control a 788T then I'm not surprised by this.
wireman
Regular
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:00 am

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby John Willett » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:21 pm

Ariosto wrote:
Kwackman wrote:You're maybe already aware of this, but just in case....

If you've a computer handy Sound Devices' own "Wave Agent" can do all kinds of things to WAV files. It's free!
https://www.sounddevices.com/products/a ... wave-agent
Thanks. I downloaded it but my damned Mac wom't let me open it as it's not an approved supplier! I hate Apple.

There is normally a setting that let's you bypass this for installing such programs.
User avatar
John Willett
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5628
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Oxfordshire UK
John
Sound-Link ProAudio
Circle Sound Services
President - Federation Internationale des Chasseurs de Sons

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:58 pm

It's a bit more complicated than that but we sorted it for Ariosto upthread a bit.

wireman wrote:If you installed the version that can control a 788T then I'm not surprised by this.

Why?

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6319
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Kwackman » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:08 pm

Not exactly on topic, but in case anyone missed it...

https://www.soundonsound.com/forum/view ... 17&t=64112
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1198
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Agharta, Humble Bee