You are here

New Mixpre-3 Need help!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Bob Bickerton » Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:53 pm

Ariosto wrote:Thanks. I downloaded it but my damned Mac wom't let me open it as it's not an approved supplier! I hate Apple.

Sound like you hate everything at the moment...... you can work around that in system settings........ RFT :headbang:

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4099
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
http://www.bickerton.co.nz

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:17 pm

When you try and install it and it fails you have half an hour to go to System Preferences / Security & Privacy where there will automagically be a box you can click to allow the installation to go ahead. It may seem a pain (actually, it is a bit of a pain) but it's really rather neat in that there is no way software can install itself without you knowing and giving explicit permission. And good job too.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8919
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:31 pm

I did go to system preferences but it only allows recognised developers, but I tried again just now and it came up with "install anyway" and it seems to have worked. Many thanks.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Kwackman » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:31 pm

Ariosto wrote:Thanks. I downloaded it but my damned Mac wom't let me open it as it's not an approved supplier! I hate Apple.
Right click on it, then select open.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1832
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Kwackman » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:33 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:When you try and install it and it fails you have half an hour to go to System Preferences / Security & Privacy where there will automagically be a box you can click to allow the installation to go ahead.

Well, you learn something new everyday!
Thanks CC
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1832
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:44 pm

Ariosto wrote:I did go to system preferences but it only allows recognised developers, but I tried again just now and it came up with "install anyway" and it seems to have worked. Many thanks.

That's it. As I say you've got half an hour after the install attempt to select "install anyway". It's a neat idea, but it could be better documented I have to say.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8919
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:23 pm

Don't know why, I'm only moderately computer literate, but I've never had a problem with this.....
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13006
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:48 am

Bob Bickerton wrote:Sounds like you’d be better off with the MixPre-3m which is also cheaper. As has been said, it produces individual WAV files instead of PolyWAV. Are you able to swap out the unit with the supplier? You’ll miss out on a few options designed for pro-film work but maybe that’s not a problem for you. Do read up first though ;)

Other than that it would appear the unit is working to specification. Which is sublime! My concert recording kit now consists of a relatively small Pelican case with a MixPre-10m, all the mics I need, headphones and mic clips - so easy!

I also have the MixPre-3 for outdoor soundscape work which is very good too. Yes the on/off switch is fiddley, but fine once you get used to it, and rather that than something which can be easily switched off by mistake.

I find the menu structure to be very easy to work, easier than the Zoom F range, but again you need to be familiar with it or read the manual ;)

Bob
Hi Bob

Thanks for the info. I found the Mixpre-3 to be cheaper than the "M" version. But I could buy the M version software (or firmware) as a download.

I did have a good look at the manual before purchase and this is a quote from it:-

In Advanced Mode, the MixPre-3 is configured as a five-channel recorder with user-selectable 44.1, 48, and 96kHz sample rate and 16 and 24bit depth.
The LR mix tracks may be recorded as well as each of the three channels as individual isolated (ISO) tracks. Audio for the ISO tracks is recorded “prefade” meaning before the channel knob gain, so any changes that are made there will only affect the LR mix and have no affect on the recorded ISO track levels. This is particularly useful for post-production audio processing where it may be desirable to remix of the tracks at a later stage.


I think I can work round these issues and the recorded quality is excellent, and I think there must be a way in Reaper of getting and processing the individual tracks.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Mike Stranks » Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:45 am

I think you'll find that if you use this: https://www.sounddevices.com/products/accessories/software/wave-agent

you'll be able to access individual files and then use them in Reaper.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7332
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:19 am

How to split multi-channel (polywav) audio in Reaper video

https://reaperblog.net/2015/09/quick-tip-how-to-split-multi-channel-audio/
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27977
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:46 pm

Many thanks for all the suggestions. I will try them all.
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Ariosto » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:17 pm

Works wonderfully in Wave Agent from Sound Devices - managed to split files into separate tracks - L stereo R-stereo and mono channel 1.

Thanks for all the ideas and help. I've also got used to the screen and fiddly bits, and navigation is easy now.

And the sound quality is fantastic!
Ariosto
Frequent Poster
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:00 am
Location: LONDON, UK

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:53 pm

:clap: :thumbup: 8-)
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27977
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Mike Stranks » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:18 pm

Excellent!

When I first encountered polywavs I was a bit banjaxed... all part of life's learning. Glad you're back on course now and pleased that you're realising the potential of that great little machine.

:thumbup:
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7332
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: New Mixpre-3 Need help!

Postby Bob Bickerton » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:14 pm

Yes, pleased it's all making sense, I think you'll really enjoy it.

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4099
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
http://www.bickerton.co.nz

PreviousNext