You are here

Recording Noob Interface Question

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Recording Noob Interface Question

Postby Ben Ferguson » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:35 pm

I've been a musician since the mid-80s, but have almost no home recording experience.

I am putting together a studio for voiceover, personal music composition, and occasional music and voice collaboration.

I already have professional microphones: Electro-Voice RE27N/D, Rode NT2-A and I have access to borrow a Shure SM7B.

I built my computer last spring. It has an Intel core i7 7700 K processor running at 4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 500GB NVME SSD primary drive, 4TB secondary drive, and uses the ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming-ITX/ac motherboard, which has native Thunderbolt 3 and USB 3.1 support, and it is running Windows 10 Pro.

I have been considering the Focusrite Clarett 4Pre Thunderbolt, Audient iD44, RME Babyface Pro, or something similar, even a Focusrite Scarlett series or PreSonus USB 3 or Thunderbolt unit, but when I spoke with Sweetwater, and told them what I want to do and what equipment that I already have, they directed me to get the Universal Audio Apollo Twin Mk2 Solo. Telling me that it will record the highest quality audio from the mics that I have and because they had a demo unit available for $580 + $49 for Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter.

I made the purchase based on their recommendations and their statements about quality preamps and overall audio quality, and I received it just yesterday.

My concern is did I buy the right thing? Did I buy more or less than what I need? Did they oversell/undersell me?

I am unfamiliar with Universal Audio and don't know if Sweetwater's claims about high-end audio recording results from my microphone selections are accurate or hype?

I only just received it and haven't tried it yet. Did I buy the right thing or should I return it?

I need advice and opinions.
Ben Ferguson