You are here

Multitracking using hardware

Page 3 of 3

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:07 am
by ManFromGlass
Your missus must be so calm and mellow and sleep well at night. . . . . . . .

If I have 1 tea after lunchtime then by 2am I am still lying awake in bed wondering why I can’t sleep until I remember the tea.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:23 am
by The Elf
Eddy Deegan wrote:Just to underline the outcome of this thread, I bailed on my resolve to wait for NAMM and pulled the trigger on a fairly decent spec audio rackount PC from Scan.
If your experience of Scan's machines is like mine you can forget all this nonsense and just get on with making some music! :lol:

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:36 pm
by Eddy Deegan
The Elf wrote:
Eddy Deegan wrote:Just to underline the outcome of this thread, I bailed on my resolve to wait for NAMM and pulled the trigger on a fairly decent spec audio rackount PC from Scan.
If your experience of Scan's machines is like mine you can forget all this nonsense and just get on with making some music! :lol:

Can't wait :bouncy:

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:25 am
by BillB
Eddy, thanks for sharing your adventure, very instructive. I particularly like your idea of occasional updates, having taken full system/disk backups, so you can roll back if any issues.

This might be a dumb question. Can a PC be connected to a local network, but not to the internet? Is there a setting anywhere that would disable internet access? I find I am quite often sharing files between the music and other PCs over the network, so ideally don’t just want to unplug it from the network.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:39 am
by The Korff
Very easily — you might even be able to do it using the Windows firewall, but safer still (and immune to Windows trying to sneak its way back online) would be to do it through the router itself (you should be able to block your music PC's access to the internet by giving it a static IP address and fannying around with the router settings). I think even a bog-standard 'Home Hub' type router should be able to do that, if you go to its advanced settings.

Cheers!

Chris

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:34 pm
by OneWorld
BillB wrote:Eddy, thanks for sharing your adventure, very instructive. I particularly like your idea of occasional updates, having taken full system/disk backups, so you can roll back if any issues.

This might be a dumb question. Can a PC be connected to a local network, but not to the internet? Is there a setting anywhere that would disable internet access? I find I am quite often sharing files between the music and other PCs over the network, so ideally don’t just want to unplug it from the network.

I don't know about my current router but in almost every other case you can include/exclude devices on a LAN at the router. A facility a parent of young kids should be aware of when they say their kids are on Fortnight 24/7 - turn off the WiFi access!

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:05 pm
by Eddy Deegan
Yeah, it's pretty easy to disable internet access for specific PCs on just about any router. You might need to configure a static IP address on the PC, but it's also quite possible that it can be done via the MAC address. It depends on the router.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:21 pm
by BillB
Thanks, folks, I'll look into it. :thumbup:

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:51 pm
by OneWorld
BillB wrote:Thanks, folks, I'll look into it. :thumbup:

I find some apps seem to need a connection, certainly from time to time. I have a shortcut link to the NIC (Network Interface Card) or if on WifI to the WiFi interface on the desktop, right click on it and disable it. That way when I need to do updates for software I right click, enable again, do the download, right click, disable.

By the way, I was having latency problems, even to the extent of crackling in the audio, even when just dragging within Cubase as a file was playing, I had to work at something like 256 samples if I had more than a couple of VSTi open and I read on the internet "disable the NIC" what that had to do with audio and DAWs I cannot fathom, all I do know is that it worked, now I can to happily work at 32 samples nay problem.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:53 pm
by BillB
Thanks OneWorld, that performance hit/fix is interesting.

Disabling the NIC has the disadvantage that you not only can't connect to the web, you also can't connect to the local network. But maybe that's why it helps! :headbang:

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:34 pm
by Eddy Deegan
OneWorld wrote:By the way, I was having latency problems, even to the extent of crackling in the audio, even when just dragging within Cubase as a file was playing, I had to work at something like 256 samples if I had more than a couple of VSTi open and I read on the internet "disable the NIC" what that had to do with audio and DAWs I cannot fathom, all I do know is that it worked, now I can to happily work at 32 samples nay problem.

Could be down to an inefficient network driver but just as likely it's a side effect of the infamous meltdown/spectre bugs that were discovered in Intel (and other) CPUs a year or so back.

The fix for those bugs involved doing a whole bunch of extra work when an interrupt comes in for the CPU to pay attention to. Network cards generate a lot of interrupts which might well explain it.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:02 am
by OneWorld
Eddy Deegan wrote:
OneWorld wrote:By the way, I was having latency problems, even to the extent of crackling in the audio, even when just dragging within Cubase as a file was playing, I had to work at something like 256 samples if I had more than a couple of VSTi open and I read on the internet "disable the NIC" what that had to do with audio and DAWs I cannot fathom, all I do know is that it worked, now I can to happily work at 32 samples nay problem.

Could be down to an inefficient network driver but just as likely it's a side effect of the infamous meltdown/spectre bugs that were discovered in Intel (and other) CPUs a year or so back.

The fix for those bugs involved doing a whole bunch of extra work when an interrupt comes in for the CPU to pay attention to. Network cards generate a lot of interrupts which might well explain it.

Yes I think that was something to do with it. I never read into the whys and wherefores, I just wanted to get the thing (DAW) working. I'd tried all the usual mods as suggested on many websites then I came across this netcard fix, I thought it unlikely to make any changes but sure enough - disabled the card and my latency figures dropped to a fraction of what they were previously.

That being said, and I think it was due to a Windows update, I forgot to disable the card after an update and the NIC was left switched on and yet there was no impact on the DAW latency, so it seems a Win10 update fixed the problem (new drivers?) but when I remember to, I disable the NIC anyway, so as to keep my precious DAW setup away from the net unless absolutely necessary.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:22 am
by Rich Hanson
WiFi interfaces in particular used to have this problem when I was on Windows, due to poor quality drivers with ridiculous DPC latency spikes, but I have encountered it on wired NICs too.

Re: Multitracking using hardware

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:09 am
by OneWorld
Rich Hanson wrote:WiFi interfaces in particular used to have this problem when I was on Windows, due to poor quality drivers with ridiculous DPC latency spikes, but I have encountered it on wired NICs too.

Yep, if I remember correctly, it was the wired NIC that caused the problem, the WiFi seemed OK but I kept getting that "Connection established - no internet connection" error (I'm on BT Internet) so went back to the wired option. However, whatever the cause, tyhe problem seems to have gone away.