You are here

Roland Fantom X8 through Audio Interface on PC

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Roland Fantom X8 through Audio Interface on PC

Postby Bucky Lastard » Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:53 pm

Ive been playing musical instruments for 25+ years and in the past few years Ive came to a medical realization after a nasty degenertive back injury many years ago that I wont be able bodied: So I have began my own little musical journey at home to stay sane: Long story short - I am wanting to know how to set up the following to get the best sound from the Roland to windows 10 PC for my own hobby: So I recently bought and or already had:

Rokit 5 G3 studio Monitors
Fantom X8 [In pristeen condition still]
I have a behringer UMC204HD

[Semi acoustics - Classical and Electric Guitars and Fender Amps etc and all XLR Mics and leads - jacks and RGA cables etc]

Whats the best or easy set up to simply record one track at a time so I can layer it and also have the Rokit 5s connected to my PC as well as the Roland Fx8 as I play it: Im not new to PC but relatively new to the setup: I dont want to use the wrong leads etc and have the monitors break:

Which leads go from where to what etcetera: Its a bit confusing: XLR to XLR or Jack to Jack? Im worried incase I break something: Do I need any other hardware? I have all the software setup etc: Thanks for reading:
Bucky Lastard
New here

Re: Roland Fantom X8 through Audio Interface on PC

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:54 pm

Bucky Lastard wrote:So I recently bought and or already had:

Rokit 5 G3 studio Monitors
Fantom X8 [In pristeen condition still]
I have a behringer UMC204HD

Whats the best or easy set up to simply record one track at a time so I can layer it and also have the Rokit 5s connected to my PC as well as the Roland Fx8 as I play it

Plug the Rokit speakers into the Main Out sockets of the interface using balanced TRS-TRS or TRS-XLRm cables.