You are here

Help Setting up my keyboard controller /Audio Interface /Drum machine/Speakers to my PC

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Help Setting up my keyboard controller /Audio Interface /Drum machine/Speakers to my PC

Postby kvalde » Tue May 07, 2019 8:05 am

Hey Guys, I need help setting up and connecting these 5 pieces together. This is my first attempt into digital recording. The following are the equipments that I have.

1- Midi keyboard Controller - Nektar Panorama P6
2- Presonus Studio 18/24 USB audio Interface
3- Alesis SR 18 Drum machine
4- A pair of presonus studio speakers (with 1/4 inch jacks)
5- A window PC desktop with over 8 USB ports

Can you guys help / guide me on how to set up or connect all of them successfully so I can hear some sounds and start recording. I have plenty of jacks and Midi cables. The way it is setup right now, there is no sound coming from the Drum machine, there is no sound coming from the keyboard controller. I want to reconnect everything from scratch the right way so I can hear sounds. The audio interface comes with Studio one music software. I also have pro-tools, which is not yet installed. Any help..? Thank you everyone..
kvalde

Re: Help Setting up my keyboard controller /Audio Interface /Drum machine/Speakers to my PC

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue May 07, 2019 9:38 am

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Plug the Presonus interface and Nektar keyboard into the computer's USB ports, plug the output(s) from the Alesis SR18 into the line inputs on the Presonus and the line outputs from the Presonus into the Speakers. Finally connect the midi out on the Alesis to the midi in on the Presonus and the out on the Presonus to the in on the Alesis.That is everything connected up.