You are here

Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby phelex » Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:46 pm

Goughy wrote:I realize Saffire Mix Control is elderly, but does anyone know if there will be an update to 64-bit?

There is now: Saffire Mix Control 3.9 (MAC)
phelex
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:32 pm

Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby Mark Hatton » Fri Jan 24, 2020 12:07 pm

Hi, I've tried the links in this Forum but the file seems to have been taken offline. Anyone else know what's happening with the 64bit Saffire ProMix 3.9 for Mac?
Mark Hatton
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 12:05 pm

Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby Kwackman » Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:47 pm

https://customer.focusrite.com/en/suppo ... d_type=all

I found it using this page and by selecting the Sapphire Pro-40, as that's what the original OP asked about, it leads to a downloads page with the 3.9 version for mac.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1977
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby upi » Sat Apr 18, 2020 5:40 am

There is now a 64bit version of Saffire Mix Control that runs on Catalina.
I've got version 3.9.32.0
My Catalina version is 10.15.4

My problem is that although I can see my Saffire Pro DSP 24 in the Firewire tab on System profile (shown below), AND, I can see the Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor in the Thunderbolt tab (also shown below), nothing on my Mac recognises the Saffire?

Focusrite claims that this device should work with Catalina?

Any ideas?
(I've checked that the extension is not blocked in security)


FireWire Bus:

Maximum Speed: Up to 800 Mb/sec

SAFFIRE_PRO_24DSP:

Manufacturer: Focusrite
Model: 0x8
GUID: 0x130E0402000E7F
Maximum Speed: Up to 400 Mb/sec
Connection Speed: Up to 400 Mb/sec
Sub-units:
SAFFIRE_PRO_24DSP Unit:
Unit Software Version: 0x1
Unit Spec ID: 0x130E


Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter:

Vendor Name: Apple Inc.
Device Name: Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter
Vendor ID: 0x1
Device ID: 0x8004
Device Revision: 0x1
UID: 0x00010003005B19E0
Apple Serial Number: DTN231501Y8F494AS
Route String: 1
Firmware Version: 5.6
Port (Upstream):
Status: Device connected
Link Status: 0x2
Speed: Up to 10 Gb/s x1
Port Micro Firmware Version: 0.0.17
upi
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 5:28 am

Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby kennalan » Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:54 pm

Hi upi,

We are trying to do the exact same thing today it seems! I have tried everything.
I am trying to run the saffire pro 40 through a 2017 Mac that has USB C inputs. I have an adaptor from the 800 -400 and through a thunderbolt adaptor to USB-C.

Any ideas what I might be missing here?
kennalan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:51 pm

Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby fatbenelton » Sat Apr 18, 2020 4:33 pm

Not got one but come across similar issues with firewire to thunderbolt.....Are you trying to run it on bus power? If so, that might be the issue. Firewire directly can deliver up to 15W power I believe, however, the thunderbolt to firewire dongle can only deliver/pass 7W which isn't enough to provide bus power for interfaces.

I hope it's something as simple as just plugging it in...beyond that I have no idea.
User avatar
fatbenelton
Frequent Poster
Posts: 629
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Liverpool, UK

Jonny


Re: Saffire Mix Control on MacOS Catalina

Postby jt12394 » Sun May 17, 2020 1:57 pm

My problem is that although I can see my Saffire Pro DSP 24 in the Firewire tab on System profile (shown below), AND, I can see the Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor in the Thunderbolt tab (also shown below), nothing on my Mac recognises the Saffire?

Focusrite claims that this device should work with Catalina?

Any ideas?
(I've checked that the extension is not blocked in security)

Hi upi,

We are trying to do the exact same thing today it seems! I have tried everything.
I am trying to run the saffire pro 40 through a 2017 Mac that has USB C inputs. I have an adaptor from the 800 -400 and through a thunderbolt adaptor to USB-C.

Any ideas what I might be missing here?

Did either of you have any luck finding a solution to this? I've just made what feels like the foolish mistake of updating my perfectly functional Saffire Mix Control v3.5 to the latest v3.9, only to find I get this same issue where my computer can see the Saffire connected via the FireWire bus, but I can't get it to appear via the Saffire Mix Control software.
Any suggestions/fixes would be much appreciated.
Thanks
jt12394
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 1:54 pm

Previous