You are here

Need advice on mastering levels - using Audacity

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Need advice on mastering levels - using Audacity

Postby mken » Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:41 pm

Hi, hope someone can give me some tips re procedures to get compatible volumes between individual songs and overall " level" to master at. Hope I'm using the correct terms, I've lots of experience with live sound mixing but was asked to make demo cd for a band - 6 songs. It has been a big learning curve but now I'm at the stage of having the 6 songs mixed to my satisfaction and next step is to produce a cd using the wav files. The CD I have ended up with sounds not too bad, but overall , compared to a commercial cd , the volume is lower. Using Audacity if I use the amplify function then it will increase amplitude until a spike hits the "0 " level. Don't know if this means 0db? Also you get option to allow clipping. I have been thro each track and tried to reduce individual peaks which then allows me to "amplify" perhaps another 0.1 or 0.2 db and then repeat procedure knocking peaks out and reamplifying. However this is a time consuming process and I wonder if what I'm doing is in fact " limiting" the levels but manually. Also I wonder if each peak I reduce is actually detracting from the dynamics of the sound. I have tried both "normalise" and "compress" but feel they both produce a much more "squashed sound". So any advice on the steps you would use to get the appropriate levels onto CD. I realise this is a bit of an open ended question as I believe there have been various standards over the years such that a 70's CD will not sound as loud as a current CD because of newer production techniques. One last question, if I take the wav files to a CD reproduction company is it likely that their process may automatically "burn" the cd at current volume levels?
mken
Poster

Re: Need advice on mastering levels - using Audacity