You are here

Digital crackles when playback in any DAW - Not a buffer size problem!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Digital crackles when playback in any DAW - Not a buffer size problem!

Postby Martin Walker » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:59 pm

Phew!

Long may your click-free status continue ;)


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 14246
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Digital crackles when playback in any DAW - Not a buffer size problem!

Postby TNGator » Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:52 pm

Terrible.dee wrote:Hmm......something like this happens when the clocking is improperly set, but that's only an issue when you are using digital I/O such as ADAT/SpDiF......Nothing conted via digital inputs?

I don't know if that Avalon has a SPDiF/ADAT out, and the Tascam a SPDiF/ADAT in, but I could easily see it being the case, and if so, would be the logical way to connect the two.

If this is the case, go and set the clock source to the Avalon (Counter-intuitive, so a lot of people get that wrong) and make sure both units are running at the same bit-depth/sample rate.

Hey! I just thought of something....That Avalon has a tube in it, no?

Back when I had a 737 the tube went wonky and I had crackling.

And Im also using a device with a tube which went wonky and likewise...had noise issues. Good spot.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users