You are here

Mixing Separate Multitrack and Stereo Recordings

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Mixing Separate Multitrack and Stereo Recordings

Postby tk76 » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:58 pm

I have limited experience in live recording and want to multitrack a performance using 8 channels from a Sound Devices Mixpre 10T. I also have a Tascam DR100mkIII that I'd like to use to capture a stereo recording of the room. Is it possible to line up and mix the multitracks and stereo take in my DAW successfully?

Cheers :angel:
tk76
Poster

Re: Mixing Separate Multitrack and Stereo Recordings

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Jul 06, 2019 9:34 pm

Yes, try to record a transient sound like a handclap after you start both recorders and you will then have a reference to line to line the tracks up in the DAW.
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Postby Mike Stranks » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:18 pm

Although it's possible to sync-up the recordings as Sam says, unless the two recorders both have very good clocks then they'll fairly quickly drift out of sync. Been there, done that, got the T-shirt... :thumbdown:

The only truly satisfactory way to do this is to have a master/slave clocking arrangement. Sadly, I don't that the Tascam will let you slave to another clock.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:38 pm

You're talking about working with two separate free-running recorders here, and good as modern digital clocks are, there will be some level of drift between them over the length of a show. So while a handclap (or similar) will help you to align the start, there's no guarantee the two recordings will still be in sync at the end.... Or of how much drift there'll be.