You are here

Recording Help!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Recording Help!

Postby Humble Bee » Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:42 pm

Or just get a second sub-mixer with two mic pres like the XQ1002usb. Then you would have 6 pres with adequate phantom power plus compression and eq on all channels.

80 bucks...
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Recording Help!

Postby ConcertinaChap » Fri Jul 26, 2019 8:01 am

G18ALG wrote:
ConcertinaChap wrote:Perhaps you could replace just a couple of mics with dynamics and give those to the loudmouths :)

That might leave enough power for the condensers.

That’s a cost efficient and favourable idea but would the sound be hugely different though?

The sound would be different from what it would have been before but as between different people less noticeable. And if you go the mic replacement route you can try it out with a couple of mics before you go the whole hog.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8918
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: Recording Help!

Postby currentsound » Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:07 am

General troubleshooting would involve working out which component is not working.

For example, take the mic and cable from mic 1 and place it into channel 3 and then 4. If it works fine in channel 1 and two but not in 3 and 4, look to see if there are any settings that are different on the other channels such as phantom power, gain, fader level, EQs, etc..

If it sounds fine, then you know it's an issue with the mic or cable that you have in the other channels but again look to see what is different. Do they all need phantom power? Is phantom only on the other channels etc..
currentsound
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:34 am
Location: Hollywood, Los Angeles

Re: Recording Help!

Postby Wonks » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:11 pm

currentsound wrote:General troubleshooting would involve working out which component is not working.

For example, take the mic and cable from mic 1 and place it into channel 3 and then 4. If it works fine in channel 1 and two but not in 3 and 4, look to see if there are any settings that are different on the other channels such as phantom power, gain, fader level, EQs, etc..

If it sounds fine, then you know it's an issue with the mic or cable that you have in the other channels but again look to see what is different. Do they all need phantom power? Is phantom only on the other channels etc..

If you'd bothered to read the thread, you'd have found that all the mics are the same, they all need phantom power, yes they all work when only one is plugged in at a time and yes, all the channels can provide phantom power. And we've already worked out that the mixing desk can't provide enough phantom power for all 6 mics at once.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10889
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Previous