You are here

Figure of eight microphones, recording in a small room?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Figure of eight microphones, recording in a small room?

Postby Arpangel » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:30 am

OK, I'm still plodding on with our piano and Marimba sessions, using stereo pairs of cardioids, but it's not ideal,TBH.
The trouble comes when I'm balancing/mixing the sessions, I've never done something like this before, and it's unnerving trying to locate a sound I don't want only to realise that the piano track I just edited is still there in its original form on the Marimba tracks!
We've sort of come to terms with this now, as it's just a by product of this way of recording and playing in the same space, and we only edit when it's really necessary. But I'd like to try and get it a bit more isolated, so I'm thinking instead of using cardioids, figure of eights may be better, being careful to angle them so the nulls were in the right places.
Only problem is that it's a small room, and the reflections may sneak into the rear lobes, so we wouldn't be that much better off.
Arpangel
Frequent Poster

Re: Figure of eight microphones, recording in a small room?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:59 am

Arpangel wrote:...it's unnerving trying to locate a sound I don't want only to realise that the piano track I just edited is still there in its original form on the Marimba tracks!

Welcome to the world of spill! :-)

I'd like to try and get it a bit more isolated, so I'm thinking instead of using cardioids, figure of eights may be better, being careful to angle them so the nulls were in the right places. Only problem is that it's a small room, and the reflections may sneak into the rear lobes, so we wouldn't be that much better off.

...And that's why commercial studios have large, acoustically treated spaces and gobo screens...