You are here

Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

Page 1 of 1

Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:17 pm
by TheLegit
If I go over to Mac I really want the same preset sounds because there's some brilliant ones on there. Some great ones by Martin Walker in fact as well!

Will I get the same preset sounds as the PC version

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:39 pm
by Wonks
Some but not all. And no Martin Walker sounds :(

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:47 pm
by desmond
TheLegit wrote:If I go over to Mac I really want the same preset sounds because there's some brilliant ones on there. Some great ones by Martin Walker in fact as well!

Will I get the same preset sounds as the PC version

If you already have Alchemy 1.5, then Alchemy 2 (in Logic) will still load those sounds (in the "Legacy" section of the preset browser).

If you don't already have the old versions, then the presets that come with Alchemy 2 in Logic are different to the ones in 1.5, and include variations of some of the old factory patches, and variations of many of the patches that were in the Expansions, but they are not identical and in many cases have been tweaked and many have different names.

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:37 pm
by Ian Shaw
I think this question was asked when Alchemy first appeared in Logic & Martin suggested that his sounds are all in there somewhere but not necessarily with the same names

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:29 pm
by MOF
I composed some instrumentals with the iOS version and was frustrated that I couldn’t get some sounds in the Mac OS Player version and thought that they would be in Logic when Apple bought the company but they weren’t.
I can’t complain though as I was just about to buy it when the Camel Audio website went quiet then Apple bought them.

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:55 am
by Martin Walker
Ian Shaw wrote:I think this question was asked when Alchemy first appeared in Logic & Martin suggested that his sounds are all in there somewhere but not necessarily with the same names

As far as I know, all my sounds are indeed still in Alchemy (minus my creator's name, so unless you already know which of the 300 or so I created it won't be that easy to find them ;) ).

I can't imagine that the powers that be altered many of the preset names, but since I don't have a Mac I can't tell you if they sound identical in the latest version. However, they should be very close to how I originally imagined them.

Hope this helps!


Martin

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:55 am
by TheLegit
Well that's good you made some damn excellent ones !

By the way can I export some kind of preset file from Alchemy PC and load that into Alchemy Mac if required?

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:18 am
by desmond
TheLegit wrote:By the way can I export some kind of preset file from Alchemy PC and load that into Alchemy Mac if required?

I think patches were cross-platform, so it should work. If you want confirmation, upload a sample preset from the PC and I'll see if I can load it in Logic's version...

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:51 am
by TheLegit
desmond wrote:
TheLegit wrote:By the way can I export some kind of preset file from Alchemy PC and load that into Alchemy Mac if required?

I think patches were cross-platform, so it should work. If you want confirmation, upload a sample preset from the PC and I'll see if I can load it in Logic's version...

Sadly don't have Logic yet considering a Mac Mini soon so can't check it out. There's some wicked presets in Alchemy pretty critical to some of my songs however if the worst came to the worst I'd just export the WAV and insert it into the Logic project I suppose

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:13 pm
by desmond
TheLegit wrote:Sadly don't have Logic yet considering a Mac Mini soon so can't check it out.

The offer was for you to upload your Alchemy PC preset here so *I* can see whether it loads into the Logic version, thereby confirming (or not) whether it would work for you if/when you go to a Mac system later.

TheLegit wrote:There's some wicked presets in Alchemy pretty critical to some of my songs however if the worst came to the worst I'd just export the WAV and insert it into the Logic project I suppose

Sure.

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:04 pm
by TheLegit
Thanks Desmond didn't read your post properly ! How can I upload the preset on SOS

Re: Is Alchemy on Mac the same Alchemy that was available on PC?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:15 pm
by desmond
TheLegit wrote:Thanks Desmond didn't read your post properly ! How can I upload the preset on SOS

Upload it on the internet using one of the many ways, eg a filesharing site, dropbox, google drive etc etc, whatever you normally use to share files, then put a link to the file here...