You are here

Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Scouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:13 pm

I have looked through the manual several times, but found very little in the way on how to import a file from pc to mix pre. I have tried all sorts but still cant figure it out.
Scouser
Frequent Poster
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:13 pm

Page 50 of the manual:

Sound Devices wrote:USB File Transfer
The MixPre-3M supports USB file transfer between its SD card and a computer
by connecting the MixPre-s USB-C port to a host computer’s USB port. To use
this feature, connect the recorder to a computer and then put the MixPre-3M
into File Transfer mode. (USB audio will be suspended.)
To enter File Transfer mode:
1. Tap .
2. Tap System > File Transfer.
3. When file transfer is complete, disconnect the recorder from the computer,
then tap Exit on the USB-C File Transfer Mode screen to return to the
previous operating state.

Connect the MixPre to your computer, switch it to act as an external drive using the file transfer mode, drag and drop files from or to the SD card, as necessary, exit file transfer mode.

Alternatively, extract the SD card from the MixPre and plug it directly into your computer (via a card reader if necessary), then drag and drop files again as required.

Obviously, the format of the audio files needs to be something the MixPre can understand, and in a directory where it can find it!

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 24997
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Scouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:45 pm

Hugh, thanks for your reply, what you suggested is what I have been trying, so i'm at a loss, I tried dragging and dropping in file transfer mode but for some reason it couldn't see the file "No file is present" which was a wav. Sometimes it just gets stuck on "opening project" ? I will give it another shot just to make sure.
Scouser
Frequent Poster
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:54 pm

On this kind of systems the most typical reason for this is that the WAV file is indeed a WAV but not of the right kind - for example, the hardware expects a 24 bits file and you drop a 32 bits etc. Often I've found that hardware producers aren't that great with error messages in these case and just appear to do nothing.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4449
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Scouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:15 pm

So do we know what wavs it likes ? Sample Rate ? Bit Depth ? I have just looked at the Sample rate and and bit depth it is recording at which is 48 & bit depth 24, have exported a wav to reflect this but it still doesn't see it ?

I am also finding that when I exit from "File Transfer" mode the unit becomes locked out !
Scouser
Frequent Poster
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Wonks » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:24 pm

Can you investigate the file format of something it's recorded?
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10120
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:27 pm

The manual doesn't say, but a safe bet would be 24bit non-broadcast at 44.1Hz (or 48).


The manual mentions poly-WAVs files (polyphonics), meaning containing multiple tracks.
Perhaps it expects a 3-channel WAV? Also in the manual there's something about names being max 10 characters?

Also old firmware wasn't able to work well with Windows 7 apparently.

You can have a look at existing WAVs exported by the MixPre or use utilities like MediaInfo (avoid the installer tough).

(Wonks beat me to it :) )
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4449
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Scouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:33 pm

Yep see above tried that ? Now i'm really puzzled
Scouser
Frequent Poster
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:36 pm

Scouser wrote:Yep see above tried that ? Now i'm really puzzled

Do you see poly or mono wavs?
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4449
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Scouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:53 pm

Mono
Scouser
Frequent Poster
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:59 pm

Scouser wrote:Mono

You could try with a poly..
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4449
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby Scouser » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:04 pm

Tried stereo & Mono, no joy. Thought it would be easier than this, I guess I must be doing something wrong, but can't for the life of me think what ;)
Scouser
Frequent Poster
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Mix Pre 3M Importing ?

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm

Yeah it sounds odd! Guess firmware is up to date.. maybe the best is to contact sound devices directly..
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4449
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users