You are here

UA25 Input sensitivity too high on dynamic mic - clipping at zero

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

UA25 Input sensitivity too high on dynamic mic - clipping at zero

Postby kahl__hahgt » Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:06 pm

I'm tyring to record my guitar amp (50 watt head into 2x12 cab) via an SM57.

I'm using the Edirol UA-25 interface as I don't have anther preamp for the mic at the moment. The problem is when I crank my amp to a nice level the UA-25 is clipping even with the input sensitivity set to zero. The clipping light on the front just flashes red, when I turn down the amp I can have the sensitivity higher and there is no clipping, but of course sounds not so good. Is the Edirol broken?

The internal limiter is turned off, phantom power is also turned off, advanced mode turned on like in the picture.

Before I go out and buy a proper mic preamp, could it be that I'm doing something wrong?

I am new to recording and have tried to follow the instructions, but maybe I am just an idiot and set it up wrong.Image
kahl__hahgt

Re: UA25 Input sensitivity too high on dynamic mic - clipping at zero

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Fri Oct 25, 2019 1:17 pm

I can;'t find any useful specs on the UA25 sensitivity, but it sounds like the amp is so loud, and the interface so sensitive, that you're overloading the preamp.

If that's the case, you have two simple options:

1. Use an XLR-TRS adapter or XLR(f) to TRS cable and plug the mic in to the line input instead. The higher impedance will affect the mic's tonality slightly, but I doubt it will be enough to concern you.

2. Buy (or make) an in-line 20dB pad like this (other brands are available) to plug between the mic and the interface XLR input.

https://www.studiocare.com/neutrik-in-line-xlr-attenuator-20db-pad-200-ohm-3-pin.html

Instructions for making your own XLR pad are here: http://www.uneeda-audio.com/pads/
Hugh Robjohns
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound