You are here

Reaper 6 is out

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby N i g e l » Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:16 pm

In cakewalk I can edit the ends of an audio clip inwards so that it becomes smaller or add fade in fade out. I can then adust the edits as required as nothing was damaged.
However if I then "bounce to clip" all the edits on the clip become permenant [but I can UNDO EDIT, as you might expect in any other application ].

So the Reaper Guy is the Winamp Guy !
The price for two major versions doesnt require thought and 1 licence is good for both my desktop & laptop. Thats a box ticked.

Can it do elastic audio ? I use Roland V-Vocal which seems too integrated with cakewalk to run elsewhere as a VST.
eg I want to take a vocal and manipulate it by pushing and pulling the timing/dynamics/pitch

poooooosh and shove the timing
push and shoooooove the timing
psh and shve - the timinggggggg

etc
N i g e l
Regular
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Ramirez » Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:48 pm

The Red Bladder wrote:
N i g e l wrote:Hmmm, reaper is an awfully small download ????????
That is because it gets written once.

Big packages that come from companies like Avid or Apple (ProTools or Logic) pass through many hands and so many routines get written into them. The next team to come along and try to update it with, say, a new feature, find themselves confronted with reams of interlocking code and very often disgruntled programmers that have destroyed all notes about what does what and how. In the case of ProTools, parts were written in India, then in Ukraine and then in Poland. Tyhe result is often page after page of dead and irrelevant code, some of which may perform a vital function but most of which is redundant.

Reaper is one guy heading the team and he and his team are all C++ Ninjas. The same guy who wrote version one, wrote version six.

There are other reasons it is so small, not least of which is that it is a non-destructive series of commands. If you cut a file or add a fade, you have not actually cut anything or altered any values, but you have told the SW to stop playing the file at that point or play it back at a reduced volume. This means that Reaper can wrangle far larger projects than most other DAWs on the same machine.

Hmm.

Pretty much all DAWs work non-destructively without affecting the source files (unless you want to)

Also, a lot of Reaper’s functionality comes
from added extension packs that are not part of the main download.

But the main reason it’s so small compared to most DAWs is that it doesn’t have any bundled sounds/samples/instruments etc.

Aled
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby James Perrett » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:24 am

N i g e l wrote:Can it do elastic audio ? I use Roland V-Vocal which seems too integrated with cakewalk to run elsewhere as a VST.
eg I want to take a vocal and manipulate it by pushing and pulling the timing/dynamics/pitch

It is very easy to adjust timing using stretch markers in Reaper. You can also adjust pitch and level manually using envelopes or automatically using the supplied plug-ins.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 8765
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby desmond » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:59 am

Ramirez wrote:But the main reason it’s so small compared to most DAWs is that it doesn’t have any bundled sounds/samples/instruments etc.

Yep - Alchemy alone, just one synth in Logic, at 51MB, is just under half the size of Reaper alone (121MB)...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9117
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:57 am

You're an order of magnitude out there Desmond, Reaper is 12MB not 120...
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9064
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:41 am

I'm on a Mac but Reaper takes up ~60MB of disk space.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11142
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:25 pm

Yes, sorry, it unpacks larger. I was talking download size. Which is about 18MB for a Mac.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9064
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:51 pm

Makes sense. :thumbup:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11142
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby merlyn » Sat Dec 07, 2019 1:27 pm

I thought Reaper was smaller because it isn't full of copy protection code. I remember seeing that on the Reaper website years ago. The implication of this is that Reaper is the actual size of a DAW, and other commercial products are bloated with copy protection code.

I have heard that crackers use software to analyse the binary. One way to put crackers off is brute force junk code that crackers have to wade through to find the relevant bit of code.
merlyn
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:15 am

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby desmond » Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:07 pm

blinddrew wrote:You're an order of magnitude out there Desmond, Reaper is 12MB not 120...

On my Mac, the app is 120MB...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9117
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:16 pm

Sorry Desmond, see above, i was talking download size rather than install size. My apologies.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9064
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Arpangel » Sun Dec 08, 2019 9:52 am

MIDI CC envelopes could be good, but that new theme? not sure about that.
TBQH, I'm a bit scared to download it, everything's working alright here at the mo...

:)
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2558
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:15 am

Downloaded it on the work mac on Friday and ran some basic projects through just to check there were no issues with a couple of key plugins i use. :thumbup:
Then switched the theme back to v5... ;)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9064
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Arpangel » Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:24 am

blinddrew wrote:Downloaded it on the work mac on Friday and ran some basic projects through just to check there were no issues with a couple of key plugins i use. :thumbup:
Then switched the theme back to v5... ;)

So you can switch back then?
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2558
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby N i g e l » Sun Dec 08, 2019 1:39 pm

James Perrett wrote:It is very easy to adjust timing using stretch markers in Reaper. You can also adjust pitch and level manually using envelopes or automatically using the supplied plug-ins.

Thanks james, that is comprehensive and unlike V-Vocal didnt crash every 5 minutes !

I downloaded & installed (took < 5 minutes !) Reaper and have had a brief play around with audio recording. All very promising although ....

Arpangel wrote:MIDI CC envelopes could be good,

Are they new ? That doesnt sound too promising for MIDI. Cakewalk started out as 12Tone's MIDI recorder so the MIDI facilities are comprehensive.

otherwise it all looks promising.
I was a bit worried about having to learn new synths & effects but Reaper seems to have found all my VSTs ( & DX's too !).
That should spread out the learning curve.

The nag box "BUY ME 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, STILL EVALUATING" is a bit keen ! Ive still weeks of evaluation left to go.
N i g e l
Regular
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby blinddrew » Sun Dec 08, 2019 8:36 pm

Arpangel wrote:
blinddrew wrote:Downloaded it on the work mac on Friday and ran some basic projects through just to check there were no issues with a couple of key plugins i use. :thumbup:
Then switched the theme back to v5... ;)

So you can switch back then?
You can switch themes at any point. That's just the graphical side of things. No idea how to go back to a previous version, never needed to.

N i g e l wrote:The nag box "BUY ME 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, STILL EVALUATING" is a bit keen ! Ive still weeks of evaluation left to go.
Yep, but it never does anything more than that no matter how long you take to look at it.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9064
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:38 pm

N i g e l wrote:The nag box "BUY ME 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, STILL EVALUATING" is a bit keen ! Ive still weeks of evaluation left to go.

I disagree, it's a nothing compared to the crippled 'demo' versions and strict 30 day evaluation periods for almost any other DAW.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11142
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby James Perrett » Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:45 pm

blinddrew wrote:
Arpangel wrote:So you can switch back then?
You can switch themes at any point. That's just the graphical side of things. No idea how to go back to a previous version, never needed to.

If you use the option to install as a standalone version you can have as many versions of Reaper on your computer as you like. On my laptop I normally use the 64 bit version but I've installed the 32 bit version as a stand-alone so that I can use Yamaha's SYXG50 VSTi more reliably. I'll probably install version 6 as a stand-alone until I'm sure that I want to keep using it.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 8765
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby Arpangel » Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:07 am

James Perrett wrote:
blinddrew wrote:
Arpangel wrote:So you can switch back then?
You can switch themes at any point. That's just the graphical side of things. No idea how to go back to a previous version, never needed to.

If you use the option to install as a standalone version you can have as many versions of Reaper on your computer as you like. On my laptop I normally use the 64 bit version but I've installed the 32 bit version as a stand-alone so that I can use Yamaha's SYXG50 VSTi more reliably. I'll probably install version 6 as a stand-alone until I'm sure that I want to keep using it.

I've gone back to previous versions many times, as problems have arisen. I just install them over what's there, on my Mac.
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2558
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Reaper 6 is out

Postby N i g e l » Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:06 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:
N i g e l wrote:The nag box "BUY ME 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, STILL EVALUATING" is a bit keen ! Ive still weeks of evaluation left to go.

I disagree, it's a nothing compared to the crippled 'demo' versions and strict 30 day evaluation periods for almost any other DAW.

I think 30 days is long enough to get the gist of somthing but I dont like not being able to "save" and continue later from where I left off. Strabgely, I dont mind being interrupted every so often but I do hate waiting for uTube adverts to finish, in 5 4 3 2 1..
maybe thats it.
------------------------

Currently Im having problems getting to grips with MIDI automation of an external synth - is this an easy thing to do in Reaper ?
N i g e l
Regular
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: UK

PreviousNext