You are here

Beginner: I have a SonyA5100, no mic input. I want to buy a Zoom H1n and connect a shotgun+lavalier

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Beginner: I have a SonyA5100, no mic input. I want to buy a Zoom H1n and connect a shotgun+lavalier

Postby iliavko » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:38 pm

Hi all!

Fist, I'm a total rookie, so try not to be too technical and pardon any lame statements ;)

I have a camera Sony A5100 and I want to vlog. Mainly record outside, but I would also do footage in closed spaces and interview people.

The camera doesn't have a mic input so I need a way to externally record the audio. For that I want to get a Zoom H1n. Saw several reviews of it and it seems a great entry level recording tool.

I was wondering if it is worth (and is it even possible?) to connect a Rode-type of shotgun mic to the H1n? How would the power work? The H1n is powered by batteries as I understood, but what about the shotgun? Does it also have its own power supply?

Or should I just use the H1n itself as shotgun and there will be no decrease in quality and no need to buy more gear?

Also, imagine I want to interview someone, is the H2n/shotgun connected to the H1n good for that? Or would I rather use a lavalier for that? If so, then I would have to disconnect the shotgun, connect the lav? Or can both of these be connected to H1n at the same time?

Also, if I wan to record the sound of the talent in front of me and also to record, say, the sound of the sea that is 20m away, or essentially record 2 channels simultaneously that would give more ambiance, can it be done with H1n? Would it record them on 2 separate files or something? Or would i have to work with frequencies, etc in post - edit?

Final question: I will be travelling in remote places with little access to electricity. Wouldn't all this gear require tons of batteries?