You are here

Overhauling home studio equipment

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Overhauling home studio equipment

Postby Remolino » Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:00 pm

Hi everyone,

Great to be back here after so long.
I need your advice.
I've been meaning to get around to this for a very long time. So, I'm a flamenco guitarist and actually recorded an album of my own music more than 20 years ago, back in 1997 to be precise. Yep I can't believe it was that long ago. So you may chuckle a bit when I tell you what my set-up was. Tascam digital portastudio 564 recording on to minidisc, a Lexicon reflex rack reverb unit, alesis SR16 drum unit, 2 x Audio Technica AT835b shotguns (can't remember why I went with those tbh), pair of Absolute 2 Spirit monitors (although I ended up putting on my earphones most of time).
The sound from one of the tracks can be heard here: https://youtu.be/loiymxha8_g
I recorded in a fairly large room with high ceilings and wooden flooring and had a bit of air and echo. Main issue was trying to get mic placement and also correct levels to get maximum gain without distortion. I didn't use compression. I still have all that equipment. The challenge with this style is that within one track I can have heavy strumming and then very reflective and long sustain the next phrase.