You are here

Simple virtual drummer instrument

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby MOF » Sun May 10, 2020 10:58 pm

My current feeling is that the Vintage kit is looking like the right option for me.
Thanks MOF! :)

You’re welcome.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 895
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Wed May 13, 2020 10:45 pm

I am having regrets
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby desmond » Wed May 13, 2020 11:05 pm

Uh-oh...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9576
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Wed May 13, 2020 11:43 pm

Actually, I retract most of that. I have it now mostly playing nicely.
Lesson one was waiting 5 seconds after pressing any buttons for the action to happen.
I think i may be hitting the limits of my machine with this.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby garrettendi » Thu May 14, 2020 7:07 am

Oh no! That is not good
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2053
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
"I mean, Led Zeppelin didn't write tunes that everyone liked. They left that to the Bee Gees"Wayne Campbell (Wayne's World)

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby Kwackman » Thu May 14, 2020 8:50 am

blinddrew wrote:Lesson one was waiting 5 seconds after pressing any buttons for the action to happen.
Is it only at the start when you first open up the drum VI?
Both SD3 and SSD take a while to load their samples on my machine when they first get opened. But once they've loaded, all button presses produce sounds instantly.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1729
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby desmond » Thu May 14, 2020 9:00 am

blinddrew wrote:Actually, I retract most of that. I have it now mostly playing nicely.

When you say "it" - any reason you're being secretive about what you chose, in the end?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9576
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Thu May 14, 2020 10:07 am

Ah, sorry, not being deliberately vague I thought everyone was reading and keeping up to date on five pages of my vacillation and deliberations... :headbang:

I went with Native Instruments Abbey Road Vintage Drummer.

It took me quite a while to get my head round how it was working but I mostly got there in the end. There are a few frustrations though.
The drop down to select the different kits doesn't load properly in Reaper (haven't tried it standalone yet) so you have to step through each version to get somewhere and as there's two versions of each kit this is a long time thumb twiddling whilst waiting for the kits to load.
But the main frustration at the end of the evening was that, after the kit has loaded and all the sounds are sounding, well, nice. Making any changes to the mixer control takes 5 or so seconds to effect. So if you want to mute a channel, or raise a fader, or solo something, you click a button, wait a bit, then the action happens. It's just about ok if you're making a single change (say soloing the kick) but if you want make a few changes at the same time it's a ball-ache.
Likewise playing with any of the built in effects, there's some nice SSL emulations in there but trying to A-B something effectively is a mare.
Will try again at the weekend and see if there's anything I'm missing - wouldn't do any harm to do some general housekeeping on my computer as well - but none of my other VSTIs behave like this.

The drums sound good though! ;)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby desmond » Thu May 14, 2020 10:31 am

Hmm - does it also behave the same way in the standalone version of the Kontakt Player? (ie, not in Reaper)
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9576
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Thu May 14, 2020 10:56 am

Not tried that yet, might get chance to try later today but more likely at the weekend.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Sun May 17, 2020 1:38 pm

Seems it's a Reaper thing. Mutes and solos work at expected speeds in standalone, but a Reaper project with no other content at all introduces these 4-5 second delays.
Which is vexing and peculiar.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Sun May 17, 2020 4:53 pm

Ah, it turns out I have less than 6GB left on my drive. That might not be helping.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Tue May 19, 2020 4:10 pm

Well, it ain't that. Guess it might be the age of my machine but it might just be it doesn't play nicely in Reaper.
Need to try and figure out how to route the different parts of the kit to separate reaper channels and see if it responds better like that. If that's possible. At least there's what looks like a comprehensive manual available. :)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby MOF » Tue May 19, 2020 4:21 pm

Ah, it turns out I have less than 6GB left on my drive. That might not be helping.....
Well, it ain't that. Guess it might be the age of my machine

Are you sure? Especially if you don’t have much RAM the hard drive is used as virtual RAM. I remember reading ages ago that the system drive should have at least 10% spare capacity.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 895
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Simple virtual drummer instrument

Postby blinddrew » Tue May 19, 2020 4:57 pm

Yeah, i was right at the limits. I now have 200GB available but still having issues.
Also dragging and dropping grooves doesn't seem to work.
(And it doesn't look like i can separate outputs in to different channels on my DAW).

Further regrets...
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

PreviousNext