You are here

TRS to TDIF - No audio sending/receiving.. MOTU 2408MK3

Page 2 of 2

Re: TRS to TDIF - No audio sending/receiving.. MOTU 2408MK3

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 12:00 am
by Hugh Robjohns
I was trying to think how you could use those TDIF inputs... Apart from buying an old Tascam or Yamaha console fitted with TDIF option cards, there were a few multichannel digital preamps with TDIF outputs... And you might find some on fleabay or other outlets for ancient obsolete gear...

Tascam certainly made an 8-channel preamp/converter called the MA-AD8. And I think Apogee did an eight channel TDIF converter too (Rosetta 800 maybe).

But you'll be looking at gear that is around 15-20 years old...

Re: TRS to TDIF - No audio sending/receiving.. MOTU 2408MK3

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 12:11 am
by James Perrett
The other suggestion would be to use a TDIF to ADAT convertor which would allow you to use a Behringer ADA8200 (or something better) for both inputs and outputs. Convertors like the Tascam IF-TAD seem to go for around £70 on Ebay.

Re: TRS to TDIF - No audio sending/receiving.. MOTU 2408MK3

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 7:28 am
by Ramirez
Hugh Robjohns wrote:I was trying to think how you could use those TDIF inputs... Apart from buying an old Tascam or Yamaha console fitted with TDIF option cards, there were a few multichannel digital preamps with TDIF outputs... And you might find some on fleabay or other outlets for ancient obsolete gear...

Tascam certainly made an 8-channel preamp/converter called the MA-AD8. And I think Apogee did an eight channel TDIF converter too (Rosetta 800 maybe).

But you'll be looking at gear that is around 15-20 years old...

There is the old RME ADI-8 Pro as well. We have a few of these still in use and working well with ADAT and TDIF.

Fair point that a huge ugly old mixer is not the most sensible way of getting 8 signals in!

Michael, I’ll PM you regarding rhat deleted message anyway.

Re: TRS to TDIF - No audio sending/receiving.. MOTU 2408MK3

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 3:41 pm
by andy cross
Is there any reason why you can't use the 3x 8-channel ADAT i/o on the MOTU?