You are here

Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

Page 1 of 1

Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:29 pm
by blj1964
Dear Forum,
I'm trying to record via Zoom H6 with 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound
i've armed the tracks and giving them phantom power 24+
no sound/input
what am I doing wrong?
yours
Bo

Re: Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:14 pm
by The Elf
Are you selecting the correct inputs for recording? These will be 1/2 or 3/4, depending on where you have the microphones plugged in - not L/R.

Are you using balanced XLR cables?

Are you setting the correct power option? You need to select phantom power (48V), not plug-in power (24V).

Re: Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:27 pm
by John Willett
⬆︎ What he said. :thumbup:

Re: Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:06 pm
by blj1964
Dear Elf, :-)

I'm arming the corresponding 1/2 (red light) ....

Argh ;-) you're right!!! I've changed the cables from XLR-Jack to balanced XLR cables and 48+ phantom, and it works.
Thanks for your time wherever you are and take care.
yours
Bo Lundby-Jæger, Copenhagen

Re: Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:13 pm
by The Elf
:D

Do come back again!

(and give my love to the mermaid...) :)

Re: Recording via Zoom H6 - 2 stereo DPA 4006 - no sound

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:19 pm
by Hugh Robjohns
blj1964 wrote: I've changed the cables from XLR-Jack to balanced XLR cables and 48+ phantom, and it works

Phantom power isn't available on the TRS sockets, and DPA mics need the full 48V phantom.

As a general rule, mics should always be connected with XLR-XLR cables.