You are here

confused about this mixer

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

confused about this mixer

Postby pancake_lizard » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:44 am

Hi, I just received this audio mixer that I bought on amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Mackie-Mix-Mix8- ... 276&sr=8-1

this is my first mixer as I'm new to music production. I'm confused because there are 6 channels "even though it says 8" and what I don't understand is how they group lines 3/4 and 5/6 on the same channels, how can I control the volume of my individual instrument when they group 2 on the same channel? Sorry if this is a noob question I can't test it right now anyway because I don't have any input cables. Thanks for the help.
pancake_lizard
Poster

Re: confused about this mixer

Postby innerchord » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:10 am

Input 3/4 and 5/6 are designed for stereo instruments and the like. If you need individual control of six sources, you really need a mixer with at least 6 mono channels.
innerchord
Regular

Postby pancake_lizard » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:14 am

I see, well I have 4 instruments that I want to plug into the mixer. Can I just plug a single 1/4 inch line into each of the 4 channels then?
pancake_lizard
Poster

Postby Funkyflash5 » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:34 am

Yes, just use the left input of each stereo channel (3/4 and 5/6)
Funkyflash5
Regular

Postby MOF » Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:56 am

I don’t think that will work. If you leave the pan potentiometer centred then the sound will be on the left channel only (unless the left channel routes to left and right by default until a right channel jack plug is inserted), if you pan hard right I think there’ll be a level drop and it won’t be possible to pan it extreme right.
Stereo pan pot’s are for correcting the balance of the stereo image, not extreme image shifting.