You are here

DAW's/Cubase 10.5 and music genre

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

DAW's/Cubase 10.5 and music genre

Postby LinearZero » Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:00 pm

Hi all

I'm new here, hopefully this has been posted in the right forum, I'm basically wanting to know from people who use/used Cubase 10.5 either artist or pro if it is worth buying (I've heard Cubase is not what it used to be, whatever that means), particularly for orchestral/cinematic music. I have been using FL studio signature for a few months so I'm still learning but one thing that has frustrated me is the "drag & drop" kind of interface, which is great for repetitive EDM but is painful for doing orchestral music.

I do not record any audio i.e vocals, instruments e.t.c. Everything I do is done via vst plugins or pre-recorded samples. I have used Cubase 5 and felt fairly comfortable with it, so any comparisons between the two would also be appreciated.

Any advice, experience in using it would be helpful. Money is not too much of an issue although if "artist" does what I need I'm happy to go with that rather than forking out more for "pro".
LinearZero
New here

Re: DAW's/Cubase 10.5 and music genre

Postby ore_terra » Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:04 pm

Cubase user here, not for that genre though. I believe it's well loved by people more deeply into VST, midi... may be Mr Elf can tell you better.
ore_terra
Frequent Poster

Postby Eddy Deegan » Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:05 pm

Hello LinearZero and welcome! I've relocated this thread to the "Recording: Gear & Techniques" forum as it's better suited for general discussions of this type.
Eddy Deegan
Some of my works.
Please consider submitting an original track to the 2nd SOS Forum Album project!

Postby LinearZero » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:07 pm