You are here

EQ for Zoom voice advice

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

EQ for Zoom voice advice

Postby peterbrinson » Fri Oct 09, 2020 1:28 am

I'm a professor who believes that the more pleasant and clear my voice is on Zoom, the better.

Here's what I'm using. Would you add some EQ hardware? Or what instead? Is there a weak link here? I'm up for paying under $300.

Tascam US 322
https://tascam.com/us/product/us-322/download

Art Tube MP/C
https://artproaudio.com/product/tube-mp-c/

Shure SM58
https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/microphones/sm58

Thank you.
peterbrinson

Re: EQ for Zoom voice advice

Postby James Perrett » Fri Oct 09, 2020 1:46 am

Keep things simple but appropriate. I'd plug the microphone directly into the audio interface and forget about using a separate preamp at the moment.

The most important factors in this situation are microphone choice, microphone position and room acoustics. The SM58 may not be the best choice because it is designed to be used close up and may sound too thin if used at a distance.

Can you link to a video showing the results from your current set up? If we can hear the issue it would make it much easier to recommend a solution.
James Perrett
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Postby Mike Stranks » Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:49 am

... and I'd go even simpler...

A decent USB mic straight into the computer - coupled with making sure you're environment is as 'echo'/reverberation free as possible will be all that's required.

I'd suggest either a Rode NT-USB or a Rode NT-USB Mini as being excellent mics.

But if you really prefer the mic/preamp combination then I'd recommend the Rode M3. An excellent mic for voice work IMO. (I tried one again this week and was reminded how good it is) Hugh R really rated it in his review too: https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/rode-m3