You are here

Audio Technica/Yamaha 102c mixer

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Audio Technica/Yamaha 102c mixer

Postby mrjoshua75 » Thu Oct 15, 2020 7:30 pm

Forgive my newbieness, do I need a preamp or audio interface to round out my setup to record to my macbook from the mixer? Signals not being picked up by Audacity, I believe the answer is yes but wanted to check with you guys. Yes everything's plugged in.

Thanks.
mrjoshua75
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2020 7:26 pm

Re: Audio Technica/Yamaha 102c mixer

Postby Arpangel » Fri Oct 16, 2020 8:20 am

Yes, you will need an audio interface, the 102c isn’t a USB interface, unlike some of the current MG series mixers...

https://www.bax-shop.co.uk/analogue-mixing-desk/yamaha-mg10xu-live-mixer
User avatar
Arpangel
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5275
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Audio Technica/Yamaha 102c mixer

Postby Dan LB » Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:33 pm

mrjoshua75 wrote:Forgive my newbieness, do I need a preamp or audio interface to round out my setup to record to my macbook from the mixer? Signals not being picked up by Audacity, I believe the answer is yes but wanted to check with you guys. Yes everything's plugged in.

Thanks.

You say signals are not being picked up by Audacity. How do you have the mixer connected to your computer?
User avatar
Dan LB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Wicklow, Ireland