You are here

Shure 507b - New Wire

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Shure 507b - New Wire

Postby jimh76 » Sat Feb 27, 2021 9:50 pm

Hi,

I have recently bougut 1 of these second hand and wanted to change the wire (too short).
Ive since discovered that the orginal wire is a 4 wire lead, that ends in a normal 3 pin xlr?
Would anyone know how to wire it up to a standard xlr.
Has anyone ever done this?

Thanks

Jim
jimh76
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 10:29 am

Re: Shure 507b - New Wire

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Feb 27, 2021 10:19 pm

All the necessary information s in the manual:
http://www.radiomanual.info/schemi/ACC_microphone/Shure_507B_user.pdf

Green and white wires are the (switched) balanced output. Red and black are the switch contacts for PTT connections.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30664
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Shure 507b - New Wire

Postby jimh76 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 1:41 pm

Hi Hugh,

Thanks for that.

I'm not too sure if I've misunderstood, or you have.

I can't use the wire (4 wire lead) that came with the mic, as it's too short, so am having to change it for a normal balanced 2 core cable.

Basically the 4 wire lead, I'm trying to replace with a normal screened 2 wire lead with an Xlr on (but will maybe change for a stereo Jack)

So I basically trying to wire up with only 3 wires (red, white and screen) what as once a 4 wire mic.

On the actual lead that came with the mic, funnily enough there seemed to be only 3 wires connected at the mic end, however the wires changed colour at the XLR end?!?

Very strange.

I'll see what I can do.

Many thanks

jim.
jimh76
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 10:29 am

Re: Shure 507b - New Wire

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sun Feb 28, 2021 1:54 pm

jimh76 wrote:I'm not too sure if I've misunderstood, or you have.

My bet is on you! :D

I can't use the wire (4 wire lead) that came with the mic, as it's too short, so am having to change it for a normal balanced 2 core cable.

Yep. I got that it.

So I basically trying to wire up with only 3 wires (red, white and screen) what as once a 4 wire mic.

Yep, so the two cores in your new cable go where the green and white wires went before, and the screen goes to where the screen went before.

If the existing (too short) cable doesn't conform to the original colour scheme, you should still be able to figure out which wire goes where from the schematic included in the manual I linked above.

Likewise, if you want to bypass the switch, the details are all in that manual.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30664
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Shure 507b - New Wire

Postby jimh76 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 2:20 pm

Cool Hugh. Thanks for thaIll give it a go.

Jim.
jimh76
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 10:29 am