You are here

Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:58 am

Hi I know this is possible, I believe Mike Stranks has connected one of his Berry interfaces to a mixer.

I want to output an amp sim on my Windows box, to the Tascam DP-24SD multitrack.

What is the best way of going about this? Should I connect the RCA Playback Outputs to the TS inputs on the multitrack? The manual says these are for monitors.

Or should I use the headphone output of the Berry into the multitrack inputs?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:03 pm

Sorry also: if I use the RCA outputs would I need a reamp box?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:09 pm

garrettendi wrote:What is the best way of going about this? Should I connect the RCA Playback Outputs to the TS inputs on the multitrack?

Yes. That would work.

Obviously, you'll need a cable with an RCA-phono plug at one end and a quarter-inch TS plug at the other (or suitable adapters)... and two cables if your sim effect is stereo.

You'll then just need to route the signals through your DAW and interface to the appropriate output(s).

Alternatively, you could, instead, use the main (balanced) outs from the interface to feed the line inputs of the recorder using TRS-TRS cables... but you're I guess you're probably using them already for your monitor speakers.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30754
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:10 pm

Got it!

Although I wonder if I have to use a DAW anyway, the simplest thing might just be to record on the PC and copy the files over.... :wtf:

EDIT: At the moment I'm using Savihost. I wonder if I can route the output in that to save me using a DAW?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:11 pm

That would work too... but not in real time! :D
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30754
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:13 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:That would work too... but not in real time! :D

Very true. Tell you what, I need to get an RCA/TS cable any way. I'll give it a bash using Savihost then install Reaper, then if neither of those work as expected, I've got a last resort of copying a mix down on the Tascam to the PC, then move the track back...

I assume a reamp box would not be needed to connect the RCA to the Tascam?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:22 pm

Also, out of curiosity more than anything else... If I wanted to record the PC output from the UMC204HD, to another UMC204HD connected to the Mac, so the Mac was recording the PC's amp sim, would that be possible also using RCA->TS?

Of course if this amp sim was available for Mac it wouldn't be a problem :roll:
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:33 pm

garrettendi wrote:I assume a reamp box would not be needed to connect the RCA to the Tascam?

No... not unless you have ground-loop noises (because the connection is unbalanced), but I think that unlikely.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30754
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:35 pm

garrettendi wrote:If I wanted to record the PC output from the UMC204HD, to another UMC204HD connected to the Mac, so the Mac was recording the PC's amp sim, would that be possible also using RCA->TS?

Yes... not ideal... and probably a higher risk of ground loop noises... But perfectly workable. Of course, a file transfer or a digital connection would be better and would avoid any converter losses.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30754
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:37 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:Of course, a file transfer or a digital connection would be better and would avoid any converter losses.

Exactly what I thought. Thankfully Reaper is licensed per user not per workstation, so looks I'll be installing it on Windows after all!

Thanks Hugh
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 12:50 pm

Hugh, one last follow up, would this cut the mustard?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Stagg-6m-Phono ... op?ie=UTF8

...only £7.45 for 6m!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Mar 25, 2021 1:18 pm

Yes. That should be fine.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30754
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby James Perrett » Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:17 pm

garrettendi wrote:Hugh, one last follow up, would this cut the mustard?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Stagg-6m-Phono ... op?ie=UTF8

...only £7.45 for 6m!

The only thing I would ask is whether you really need it that long? As it is unbalanced, it may be better to use a shorter length (which would be even cheaper).
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10642
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:18 pm

James Perrett wrote:
garrettendi wrote:Hugh, one last follow up, would this cut the mustard?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Stagg-6m-Phono ... op?ie=UTF8

...only £7.45 for 6m!

The only thing I would ask is whether you really need it that long? As it is unbalanced, it may be better to use a shorter length (which would be even cheaper).

The PC and the multitrack are about 5 metres apart in my studio, but I could easily move the multitrack closer if you really think a 3m cable would be a marked improvement?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Re: Connecting Behringer UMC204HD to mixing desk/multitrack

Postby garrettendi » Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:20 pm

User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2389
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
You don't need reverb, just stack two EQs together with a really long cable

Next