You are here

Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby TheLegit » Fri Jun 04, 2021 2:19 pm

With the standard record/ play buttons and a variety of configurable buttons to taste.
TheLegit
Regular
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:16 pm

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby blinddrew » Fri Jun 04, 2021 2:33 pm

I have a Korg nanoKontrol2, a BCR2000 and a BCF2000 all set up to work with Reaper in different ways!
But all of them have a standard set of transport controls on. Anything in particular you wanted to know?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14989
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby The Elf » Fri Jun 04, 2021 2:58 pm

I use a Behringer X-Touch, and I've created my own MCU-compatible iPad control layout. They both work fine with Reaper.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby manwilde » Fri Jun 04, 2021 3:03 pm

I used a BCF2000 for several years and a few months ago swapped it for a Faderport, which suits my needs just fine. I don' t use it for plugin control, just transport, solo, mute, fader and a couple of custom shortcuts (show/hide docker, crop to active take...).
The BCF is now packed in a wardrobe, waiting for me to either use it for Totalmix control or sell it.
manwilde
Regular
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby Bob Bickerton » Fri Jun 04, 2021 4:38 pm

I’d highly recommend the Elgato Stream Deck https://www.elgato.com/en/stream-deck.

On the assumption Reaper has keyboard shortcuts for all the functions you require, you can programme the stream deck the way you want and have the backlit LCD keys to reflect whatever action you’ve programmed. The 15 keyed version can be programmed in 4 layers giving 56 options (plus 4 keys to navigate layers).

Here’s how I have the top layer set up for Logic:

Image

Programmed (starting bottom right):

Record
Play
Stop and go to last play position
Rewind
Undo
Next Marker
Previous Marker
Set Marker
Cycle mode
Open UAD Console
Bounce region in place
Bounce (track)
Automation View
Next Layer down (edit menu)

Really nice piece of kit that replaced my Faderport some years ago.

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4227
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby The Elf » Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:07 pm

Good call, Bob. +1 to the Stream Deck.

I also set up my Stream Deck to MCU standards and bring it in as MIDI, so focus is not an issue.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby Albatross » Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:25 pm

A wireless qwerty keyboard and a packet of sticky dots. I have tried controllers but the keyboard seems to work best for me.
Albatross
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1615
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:00 am
Location: Airstrip 1, Eurasia

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby shufflebeat » Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:58 pm

An older version of this wireless number pad:

Image

Set to trigger all kinds of stock and custom actions in Reaper.
shufflebeat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6350
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Manchester, UK
"Dance, dance. wherever you may be, for I am the Lord of the damp settee..."

Do yourself a favour, wear earplugs at gigs.

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby manwilde » Fri Jun 04, 2021 7:40 pm

I've been using wireless qwerty keyboards since forever, but it took me a while to realise that it was just the ticket to record my singing away from the computer to minimise fan noise... :lolno: :headbang:
manwilde
Regular
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby James Perrett » Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:12 pm

I've got a Frontier Tranzport in the studio which works well - apart from the auto power off which means that it sometimes switches off if I spend too long editing with the mouse. However, hitting a button and waiting a few seconds for it to wake up sorts things out.

I also have a Frontier Alphatrack (courtesy of another forum member) at home which also works well but has a habit of losing connection after a while. Both of these devices are long obsolete though.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10820
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Jun 05, 2021 10:41 am

I have a StreamDeck mini with 6 buttons, works very well except the form factor is a little odd, it's wedge shaped with the control surface at quite a steep angle so ti slide when you press a button.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15788
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Still taking this recording lark seriously (and trying to record my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby The Elf » Sat Jun 05, 2021 11:13 am

Sam Spoons wrote:I have a StreamDeck mini with 6 buttons, works very well except the form factor is a little odd, it's wedge shaped with the control surface at quite a steep angle so ti slide when you press a button.
Velcro is your friend...
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Jun 05, 2021 6:40 pm

It would be if I wanted it in the same place all the time but I move it around, maybe when I get my new desk sorted I won't have to move it to make space for the mouse and keyboard. I'm thinking of making a cutout for it in my home brew monitor controller so it sits in a slot with the controls at the same angle as the top.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15788
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Still taking this recording lark seriously (and trying to record my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby Wonks » Sat Jun 05, 2021 7:01 pm

You could strap it to your arm like a big wristwatch.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11630
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Anyone use a hardware transport with Reaper

Postby The Elf » Sat Jun 05, 2021 10:17 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:It would be if I wanted it in the same place all the time but I move it around
Same here - that's why I use the velcro! A roll of industrial sticky-back velcro, little woolly squares anywhere you might need it, spiky bit on the rear of the Stream Deck - portable remote!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16795
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Next