You are here

Hello - Beginners Questions on L/R & ISO vs Mix

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Moderator: Moderators

Hello - Beginners Questions on L/R & ISO vs Mix

Postby Jpjb14 » Wed Jun 09, 2021 1:11 pm

Hello, hope everyone is well and thank you for excepting me to join this forum.

I am brand new to the world of sound recording and have recently got my self a Zoom F6 recorder and a Rode NGT5 Shotgun mic & a matched pair or Rode NT5 to play around with to learn the art of field recording - hopefully wild & nature. Nothing too crazy but just to then maybe put the tracks into some post software and play around with what I have created :)

However there is a couple of things that im a bit confused with and was hoping for some clarification & guidance what they are/does... (I think there generic and not specific to the Zoom f6)

1) I have noticed that when I am recording a mic say through XLR 1 then on the front screen the channel 1 bar move up and down (gain bar) but also the L&R bars do too... what are the L&R bars and is this correct to happen?

2) (I think this may be related to above actually), but I have read the phrase ISO track & Stereo Mix (track)? again what are these and when/why would you use each?

Thanks so much for your help and support everyone, really appreciate it.
Jpjb14
Poster

Re: Hello - Beginners Questions on L/R & ISO vs Mix

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed Jun 09, 2021 1:35 pm

Jpjb14 wrote:1) I have noticed that when I am recording a mic say through XLR 1 then on the front screen the channel 1 bar move up and down (gain bar) but also the L&R bars do too... what are the L&R bars and is this correct to happen?