You are here

need to replace my monitors (Spirit Absolut 2)

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

need to replace my monitors (Spirit Absolut 2)

Postby tc99 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:19 pm

i've been using Spirit Absolut 2 for 6/7 years, but they are starting to fail on me, and i need to get some new ones.

i haven't even looked at what's available since i bought these years ago. i really like these absolut's, but i believe they are not making them anymore. so any suggestions for a similar type of unit. i had a quick look at turnkey's and they only were selling active monitors, are passive one less common now?
tc99
Regular

Re: need to replace my monitors (Spirit Absolut 2)

Postby forumuser695516 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:50 pm

Theres a multitude of them out there to choose from these days.
The short of it is, you need to check some out and see which ones float your boat. You know how it is.. One mans meat is another mans poison. Or something like that!?
But yes, you do seem to see less & less passive monitors these days. Manufacturers seem to be favouring the active variety more..

While im here.. What part is failing on your Ab 2's? If it is the woofers, drop me a PM if you like, as I have a several new/unused ones here for Ab 2's & 4P's.

Paul
forumuser695516
Frequent Poster

Postby tc99 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:14 pm

paul, thanks for the advice and offer, but it's tweeters i need
tc99
Regular

Postby Richie Royale » Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:25 pm

http://www.soundonsound.com/forum/showf ... ain=377452

Thread from 2006 about replacing the tweeters. But as others point out, you'll probably be better off upgrading.
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
http://soundcloud.com/richie-royale 

Postby forumuser695516 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:06 pm