You are here

5k budget, what to do?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

5k budget, what to do?

Postby I Am Tall » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:31 am

Ok, So i'm an experienced guitar player but I've done hardly any music recording, I've got a spare room in my new place which I'd like to turn into a small home recording studio as the mrs is a singer.

So, I've got about 5 or 6 grand to spend, with that I need to buy a guitar and amp, and I'm guessing a Mac, but then what?
do I need a mixing desk and what not or can I use the Mac for most things?
What studio speakers should I get? Should I get one of those home vocal booth things or just a good vocal mic? which one?
What software for the Mac will i need?

Sorry for all the questions but I am a recording newbie and could do with some advice before I go splash the cash.

many thanks
I Am Tall
New here

Re: 5k budget, what to do?

Postby James Perrett » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:15 am

Don't buy everything at once. I know of too many people in your situation who went to a music shop with 5 grand for a recording setup, came out with loads of gear, tried to use it for a week or two and then gave up because they found the learning curve too steep.

You're already connected to the internet so I assume that you already have a computer. Why not start with a basic audio interface and cheap software that runs on your existing computer? Once you get a little experience you will have a better idea of what you want to do (and what you don't want to do) and can then try expanding your setup.

Cheers

James.
James Perrett
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Postby ef37a » Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:59 am

I am right behind James here.

I read of so many people handwringing over which AI/mixer/card/mics to drop their wedge on, terrified of making a "mistake". Don't worry, there will always be some armpit who says "You haven't bought one of THOSE have you!?"