You are here

Touch screen monitors.

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby ManFromGlass » Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:39 am

Dynamic Mike wrote:The biggest difference for me though was when I learned to let go of the mouse when I'm thinking/watching/reading/listening.

Yes. I'm still training myself to do this. Good point. Plus standing up every 20 minutes or so. Numerous composer friends my age are singing the praises of desks that raise up to standing position. Their backs feel better they say. But this is probably another thread.
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1408
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: In the woods in Canada
 

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby awjoe » Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:24 am

Folderol wrote:I have difficulty understanding how that could possibly work!

Modern touch screens are capacitive. By adding a layer of glass you are increasing the distance between you and the screen, therefore reducing the capacitance, and (one would think) sensitivity.

That's more or less what I said to him in that thread, and what he said (and if you'd read the thread, you'd know this) is that his touchscreen is infrared, not capacitive. Therefore, his finger on the glass breaks the infrared just as well as before.
User avatar
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2264
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:00 am
"Against stupidity we are defenseless."  - ascribed to poor old Dietrich Bonhoeffer, who felt defenseless against stupidity

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby PaulF » Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:36 pm

I use a Dell 2710 All-in-One PC
Touch screen use in Sonar (X3) is reasonable, still need mouse for midi and clip editing.
I use the Win10 onscreen mouse sometimes to vary my wrist usage (to reduce RSI pain etc)

Also use a customisable 'toolbar' to put a load of shortcuts along the bottom of the screen (minimises the use of onscreen menus or multiple key combinations).
http://forum.tabletpcreview.com/threads ... oad.63014/

Few articles from the Sonar forums that might be if interest / use:

http://forum.cakewalk.com/TouchOSC-Touc ... 98256.aspx
http://forum.cakewalk.com/1920-x-1080-R ... 36658.aspx
http://forum.cakewalk.com/Windows-10-Sc ... 35207.aspx

First link includes the use of a tablet as a secondary controller - I have experimented using the Win10 'Project' option for this - works well for generic control (move the faders view to the tablet so that they are always available).
I did try using it with Lyrics / Staff view to display my lyrics (moving in time with the song) whilst recording (as I wanted my mic at the opposite end of the room to minimise fan noise pick up) - ran into some latency issues there so that wasn't so successful :headbang:

Anyway - totally empathise with the medical issues - my RSI is only relatively mild but still a major pain in the neck (literally :thumbup: ) - good luck!
PaulF
Poster
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
PaulF

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby Zukan » Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:15 am

Thanks Paul.

Still not decided on this.
User avatar
Zukan
Moderator
Posts: 7029
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby Kraznet » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:00 pm

I just bought a Hannspree HT273HPB 27" Full HD TouchScreen Monitor http://www.hannspree.eu/en/monitors-ran ... mg360-prev

But I'm encountering the following problem.My primary monitor is a 40" Philips 4K set to 150% scaling. The new touchscreen is sitting on my desk in front of the monitor. The main problem I'm encountering is if I have my DAW open on the 4K display and the mixer open on the touchscreen which is how I intended it to be I cannot get any touch functions happening on the mixer. I tested it in Samplitude Pro X3, Cubase 9.5 and Reaper. However if I right click on the desktop and choose "display settings" and set the touchscreen as the primary monitor the touch functions do work. Although I would prefer the 4K monitor to remain my primary monitor. So to sum it up if my 4K monitor is set as the primary monitor the touch functions on the secondary monitor don't work. In fact having just tested further if the touchscreen is set as the secondary monitor touch functions don't work on anything including my browsers.

Regards, Martin
Kraznet
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: London
Sequoia V14 Samplitude Pro X3 + Betas . My Samplitude tutorials:http://www.youtube.com/kraznet

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby Kraznet » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:20 pm

OK I found the solution. You need to open "Tablet PC Settings" from the Windows Control Panel and touch the touch screen so that Windows knows it is a touch screen. I found the solution from here:
https://www.tenforums.com/drivers-hardw ... nitor.html
Kraznet
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: London
Sequoia V14 Samplitude Pro X3 + Betas . My Samplitude tutorials:http://www.youtube.com/kraznet

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby Martin Walker » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:08 pm

Glad you're sorted Kraznet, and thanks for posting the solution here for others to benefit from :thumbup:


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 12493
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby topaz » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:52 am

Gutted, I got a Hanns.g 15.6 screen today, plugged in the so called "lay flat design" into my android box and it can only be viewed in an almost upright position, as soon as I tilt it back the scene glare is impossible to see. Lay it flat and nothing is visible.

I'm wondering if this is just the the Hanns.g is rubbish or if other touch screen have this issue when laying almost flat ?
User avatar
topaz
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby topaz » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:53 am

If I can get a touchscreen that is not to big that be layed almost flat and still be visible like an iPad then it could be a wicked little setup.

Android box running Ethernet midi into Mac Pro with touchDAW and lemur.

It's a real shame the Hanns G was so poor.
User avatar
topaz
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby Agharta » Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:51 am

Sounds as if it has a cheap TN panel so a monitor with an IPS panel should be fine.
User avatar
Agharta
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2828
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby topaz » Sat Sep 08, 2018 9:02 am

Hi,

yes it's tn because there are no 15.6 ips screens.

The nearest is HT225HPB 21.5 ips but that may be too big for my desk space/needs.

Will check further, cheers.
User avatar
topaz
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Re: Touch screen monitors.

Postby topaz » Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:49 am

Cheers, all sorted now. Got the 21.5 Hanns g ips. Much better.

Now I just need to work out why I have to plug the USB in after the android box starts for it to work multi touch.

Then try and suss out how to get vu metering inside lemur :>


Agharta wrote:Sounds as if it has a cheap TN panel so a monitor with an IPS panel should be fine.
User avatar
topaz
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jaminem, molecular