You are here

Creating very wide and accurately positioned sounds in a mix

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Creating very wide and accurately positioned sounds in a mix

Postby NewMixer101 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:53 am

Hi guys, Im a newbie mixer
Ive already read and looked up all their is to know regarding terminology etc
and psycho acoustic effects etc and the various techniques except polarisation

My mixing idol is GigaP who has epic mixes, and I was just wondering if anyone had any tips on getting a similar sound in terms of that very wide/stereo image with placement of sounds where you want them to be. I know the HAAS/precendence effect can get close but Ive found that their is greater sound in one ear (which is as excepted by that effect). 1. How do you get a more balanced stereo image i.e. plays same on L) and R) and then 2. any tips or plugins to orientate the sound to a particular position in the stereo field? can anyone please elaborate?!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6H7Gcu ... 6H7GcuORWI
NewMixer101

Re: Creating very wide and accurately positioned sounds in a mix

Postby job » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:35 pm

Oh dear, I feel confident enough to post in a mixing thread... hopefully the sky does not fall! :thumbup:

NewMixer101 wrote:1. How do you get a more balanced stereo image i.e. plays same on L) and R)

Plays the same? The source material should be the same in the left and right channel. True stereo will often be different and therefore lead to discrepancies between left and right. So, assuming the source is identical in both channels, a balanced spread can be achieved with a stereo spreader.

NewMixer101 wrote:2. any tips or plugins to orientate the sound to a particular position in the stereo field? can anyone please elaborate?!

The balance and pan knobs. :thumbup: Some fancy surround plugins might allow for greater precision in this, not sure.