You are here

Sound craft ui16

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Sound craft ui16

Postby rdc123 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:17 pm

Hi guys. Hoping someone can help me out. I'm new to this so apologies.

I have a Soundcraft UI16 and am looking a bit of help on post recording production. The problem I have is that when I record directly off the UI16 facility it only records onto 1 WAV file. Our band are using up to 6-8 channels recording at the same time. So after recording I can't really do anything with the 1 WAV file. I'd really need the 6-8 individual files so i can adjust or re-record bits.

Can I buy software like Ableton or something else that could connect to the UI16 and allow me to record individual channels and then allow me to do some post production on them?

Thanks for your time.
rdc123
New here

Re: Sound craft ui16

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:53 pm

Apologies for the bad news, but from what I read it is not possible: you only get a stereo out to usb. Many mixers claim they record to usb in a little deceiving way, as they can’t record individual tracks but only the stereo mix. An exception is the one I use, an Alesis Multimix USB 2.0, and there are a few others.
CS70
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Postby Mike Stranks » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:04 am

Welcome! :thumbup:

CS70 is correct I'm afraid....

The manual states:

The Ui mixer has built-in media factilities.... The Ui16 can play and record. The player can be used for backing tracks or for background music in between sets, for example, while the Record facility records the main stereo mix.

If you want multitrack recording you'll either need to upgrade to the UI24R or go to a different make and model... The bigger similar Behringer models do multitrack, but only to an external device.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
The older I get, the better I used to be

Postby rdc123 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:22 am