You are here

I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:42 pm

Impressive detection work. :clap: :thumbup:

I think it's time for a discussion with the clever chaps at Focusrite!

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 26942
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby stormymondays » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:09 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:Impressive detection work. :clap: :thumbup:

I think it's time for a discussion with the clever chaps at Focusrite!

H

Sadly, after relaying all the detective work, I'm getting a reply from Focusrite support where they say "providing extended assistance in the realm of testing with 3rd party technologies falls out of the scope of support", even though this unit is designed to extend any third party interface, as stated in their product pages. They also tell me that "The approaches to testing that you are employing are not those we are capable of here", which made me chuckle. Oh, and that they will "forward to the engineering and development departments directly" without any guarantee if I'll even receive a reply.

Lastly, the support email ends with "Vote for Focusrite in the 2018 Sound On Sound Awards" which I thought was priceless :bouncy:

I've tried to send them one final, brief explanation of the problem. I'm also getting in touch with the store to try and get the unit repaired, but I don't have high hopes...
stormymondays
Regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:45 pm
 

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby stormymondays » Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:15 pm

Following up on this, I managed to pursue this further with Focusrite support. They have confirmed that the results I'm getting are not a problem of my particular unit, but so far they are not recognizing it as an "issue" or "critical behaviour".

They will still escalate it further, but at this point my options are to "align" the unit everyday when I start up the studio, or sell it.
stormymondays
Regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:45 pm
 

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby Neil - FocusriteNovation » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:36 pm

Good afternoon,

Thanks for bringing this behaviour to our attention.

We have now carried out testing in house and we can confirm that the Clarett OctoPre conversion latency at the digital to Analogue stage can vary up to a maximum of 22 samples (Eg. 0.45ms @ 48 kHz). This affects all channels in the same way and does not vary per channel or during continuous use. Latency variation can happen when the unit is power cycled which could impact some use cases.

We are putting steps in place to address this as quickly as possible and update the firmware for any future production. Due to the fact this unit is not field updatable, we will need to get the unit back from you to be updated. I will have someone arrange this with you in your support case.

If anyone else is experiencing this issue please get in touch with us via the contact form on our website and we will be happy to assist in getting this resolved.

Best regards,

Neil Marron
Global Support Manager
Neil - FocusriteNovation
Poster
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:00 am
Location: High Wycombe

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:13 pm

Excellent. Thanks for the update Neil. Glad that obscure gremlin has been tracked down and beaten into submission.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 26942
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby stormymondays » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:26 pm

Thanks Neil and the Focusrite team! I'm in touch so I can get my unit sorted out.

Also, thanks again everyone for helping diagnose and troubleshoot this.

Case solved!
stormymondays
Regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:45 pm
 

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby Martin Walker » Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:41 pm

Hi stormymondays!

Excellent news, but so let us know that the problem really is resolved when you get our unit back ;)


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 15572
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby stormymondays » Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:39 pm

Martin Walker wrote:Hi stormymondays!

Excellent news, but so let us know that the problem really is resolved when you get our unit back ;)


Martin

As promised, I'm chiming in to confirm that Focusrite did solve the issue and shipped a fixed unit! The UK support/tech team was excellent throughout, and I did get a replacement unit in the meantime. Outstanding.
stormymondays
Regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:45 pm
 

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby blinddrew » Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:59 pm

Good stuff. I've always found the folks at focusrite really helpful when I've needed to contact them. :thumbup:
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10118
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby Martin Walker » Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:44 pm

Well done Focusrite! :clap:


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 15572
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby ef37a » Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:36 am

Yes, well done Focusrite.

I wonder however if this is another case of the "Watchdog Effect"? You know the sort of thing, a badly served consumer battles a company for months (around 6 in this case) and then miraculously a solution is found when an organization with some public clout gets involved.

Fair play to Focusrite and I think most companies at some level want to give good service it is just that they have put in layers of "chits of girls" and "jobsworths" that defeat the common man.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11485
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby stormymondays » Sat Jun 02, 2018 5:07 pm

ef37a wrote:I wonder however if this is another case of the "Watchdog Effect"? You know the sort of thing, a badly served consumer battles a company for months (around 6 in this case) and then miraculously a solution is found when an organization with some public clout gets involved.

To be honest, it took a while to get past the first line support and up to a technician that would understand the issue, and maybe SOS helped with this. In that case it's only fair, since I bought the unit on the strength of the SOS review :-)

Once that happened, everything was taken care of quite swiftly. When it took longer than expected for them to write new firmware, they sent me a replacement unit, and they even offered to send their top of the line interface instead, so no complaints on that front.
stormymondays
Regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:45 pm
 

Re: I/O Ping value changes randomly (Logic, RME, Focusrite)

Postby ef37a » Sat Jun 02, 2018 5:39 pm

stormymondays wrote:
ef37a wrote:I wonder however if this is another case of the "Watchdog Effect"? You know the sort of thing, a badly served consumer battles a company for months (around 6 in this case) and then miraculously a solution is found when an organization with some public clout gets involved.

To be honest, it took a while to get past the first line support and up to a technician that would understand the issue, and maybe SOS helped with this. In that case it's only fair, since I bought the unit on the strength of the SOS review :-)

Once that happened, everything was taken care of quite swiftly. When it took longer than expected for them to write new firmware, they sent me a replacement unit, and they even offered to send their top of the line interface instead, so no complaints on that front.

Well ok, you know the hoops you had to jump through better than I. The genius that said "we cannot be responsible for problems with third party devices" needs sacking. ADAT (afaik) is an industry protocol, like USB (won't say Firewire!) and anything should work with anything else. In any case, ANYTHING you connect to a computer is "third party"! What if Dell & Co took the same stance?

The problem is I think the fact that "communication" has never been easier or cheaper and yet it is now often harder to contact a person in a company with any sense or authority than it was 30 years ago. Rarely is there a prominent email address and you often have to fill in a very nosy form. Orta be a law!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11485
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Previous