You are here

What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby Andre PW » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:34 am

I just started recording my own music a year and a half ago, i used to have engineers work for me that would use Protools or Logic but i recently acquired Cubase from a Friend. I mainly need it only for voice recordings. let me know what you all think is best! thank you very much
Andre PW
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:24 am

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby desmond » Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:23 pm

There is no best, and all are broadly comparable, and only differ in minor ways.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7705
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:11 pm

If I was in your situation since you've already got Cubase I'd just try it and see how I got on. N.B. I've never used Cubase myself but it's pretty obvious all the main DAWs are broadly comparable because if they weren't and there was one obviously better DAW then the others would fall by the wayside.

Welcome to the forum, BTW.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5266
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:30 pm

Have you any experience of any of them yourself? As has been said, they all do the same stuff and the differences are in the user interface. If you have used, say, Cubase for a while then stick with it as changing to another will require learning a new way of working. If you haven't then choosing one your friends use gives you access to some help an assistance when you need it.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5965
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby The Elf » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:26 pm

There are still some odd stalwarts out there that believe you need Pro Tools (and/or Logic) for 'Pro' mixes. It's nonsense.

If you have Cubase, and you know/like it, then it will do the job perfectly.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11065
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby SoundComet » Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:39 pm

They all offer really good platforms to mix but at our studio all my engineers prefer Logic Pro because we find that the quality of the effects are slightly better. If I had to choose in order I would say:

1.Logic
2.Pro Tools
3.Cubase

Good Luck with your project :)

Milad Darani

Owner of Sound Comet
milad@soundcomet.ca
http://www.soundcomet.ca
User avatar
SoundComet
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Canada

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby Martin Walker » Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:54 pm

HI Milad, and welcome to the SOS Forums! 8-)

I'm slightly surprised that you would choose a DAW because of the relative quality of its bundled plug-in effects.

I thought most DAWs provide good quality effects nowadays, and few professionals seem to rely on the bundled ones anyway, preferring to amass a specific collection that works for them.

Having said that, Logic does come highly recommended by a lot of musicians, so perhaps it's horses for courses ;)


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 11889
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby SoundComet » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:12 pm

Thanks Martin , I know on paper they are pretty much the same thing, but I tend to get marginally better results with logic, specially with its space and delay designers. Definitely horses for courses haha.


Milad Darani

Owner of Sound Comet
milad@soundcomet.ca
http://www.soundcomet.ca.
User avatar
SoundComet
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Canada

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby Martin Walker » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:53 pm

Fair enough Milad :thumbup:

If that's what works for you, then great ;)


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 11889
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby OneWorld » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:25 pm

The Elf wrote:There are still some odd stalwarts out there that believe you need Pro Tools (and/or Logic) for 'Pro' mixes. It's nonsense.

If you have Cubase, and you know/like it, then it will do the job perfectly.

What I like about Cubase is the Render in Place facility. I use some hardware synths so record the out and put everything into wav and I find the mixing in Cubase easier to get along with i the later versions and was amazed that Render in Place has as good as done a perfect job of rendering down to stereo.
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2230
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby SafeandSound Mastering » Sun Apr 15, 2018 2:28 pm

Anyone who can hear well enough to be a professional mix engineer will very quickly hear that select third party plugs ins are superior than anything included in any specific DAW.

There are possibly 1 or 2 exceptions per DAW but nothing that will make or break your mix with a third party equivalent. (often in fact superior)

You mention mainly recording voices but also mention mixing in the title. The most important criteria is stabilty on your computer. That you will only find out about by using and as you have Cubase now it makes sense to investigate by trying it out.

Whatever you use, ensure your session/project is set to record at 24 bit resolution and leave decent headroom below 0dBFS on the loudest sections of any vocal recrodings.
User avatar
SafeandSound Mastering
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:00 am
Location: South East
 

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:40 pm

SafeandSound Mastering wrote:AWhatever you use, ensure your session/project is set to record at 24 bit resolution and leave decent headroom below 0dBFS on the loudest sections of any vocal recordings.

That's cracking good advice.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5266
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby The Elf » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:21 am

I'd go as far as to say to ensure that *no* recording peaks above -10dBFS, vocals or anything else. then ansure that you preserve these peak levels throughout every stage of the processing chain. Not only will mixing be much easier, but you won't be having to re-trim to prevent overloading the mix buss.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11065
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: What is better for mixing between Cubase, Protools & Logic?

Postby Cave Studio » Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:04 pm

The speed of work is down to which workflow you prefer. The sounds depends on your use of stock plugins.
Cave Studio
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:55 pm
Location: Nice, Cote D'azur, France


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users