You are here

Kontakt 5, AmpleSound (or Library vs Instrument) - SAVE ME!!!

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Kontakt 5, AmpleSound (or Library vs Instrument) - SAVE ME!!!

Postby JordanBeats » Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:28 am

Hi All

This may be a niche question, or an amateur one, but I beg of you to help me either way.

I am a drummer who sings and writes music, but I hardly play any other instrument, (unfortunately including the MIDI keyboard I have).

My dream scenario would be having access to a wide range of realistic sounding instruments, sounds and parts (guitars, bass and others), which I can fully customise into my songs in terms of chords, articulation, strumming, soloing, tempo etc etc.

I have Cubase Pro, however the MIDI instruments and samples don't sound that realistic (even with editing tools like arpeggiators), and the Audio samples library seems limited in terms of content and editing ability.

Do you think Kontakt 5 sounds and samples will provide me with what I need? Or, given I am not that good on a MIDI keyboard/controller, should I invest in instrument-specific software, like Ample Sound guitars, that allows you to program the sound you want?

I am worried that even with having Kontakt, I will end up still needing something like Ample Sound guitars, and that will be heavy on the wallet.
JordanBeats
New here

Re: Kontakt 5, AmpleSound (or Library vs Instrument) - SAVE ME!!!

Postby The Elf » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:39 am

Having realistic-sounding library material is really only the start of getting realistic-sounding musical parts.