You are here

Online Mastering Services

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Online Mastering Services

Postby rob_reido » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:10 pm

Hi all,
I'm a music tech student in my first year of A-level, and I'm currently working on writing and releasing an EP of original music. Whilst I am at present confident enough in my mixing abilities to mix the EP myself (and am part-way through doing so), I don't know anywhere near enough about mastering to master the EP to a level I'm happy with. Does anyone have any suggestions for places I can upload my mixdowns for them to be mastered?
My primary concerns are: cost-effectiveness, sound quality (obviously) and turnaround time.
My music is Britpop/Acoustic Singer-Songwriter in style (with no drumkit), and the EP itself will be an online-only release via Distrokid to all of their stores.
Thanks in advance,
Rob
rob_reido

Re: Online Mastering Services

Postby James Perrett » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:14 pm

Why not take a look at your favourite releases in the genre that you are working in and see who mastered them. It is always worth asking whether they do special rates for unsigned artists.
James Perrett
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Postby CS70 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:51 pm

James suggestion makes much sense.

A few things to help you find what you look for (assuming you master for digital, vinyl is a bit different matter):

The main goal of mastering is to make so that when your mix is played on a playback system, it sounds as good as it can on it. In principle, a mastering engineer will try and keep the mix sound as it is, not change it. At most, for an LP/EP it may add a little subtle sonic common thread, but 90% of the sonics are done at mixing stage.