You are here

Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

Page 1 of 1

Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:30 am
by marconicph
Hi,

Im expanding my studio and need an extra pair of monitors for reference. Right now im working with an Apollo Twin mkll quad and focal twins. Any suggestions for the best way to set up, lets say a pair of active mix cubes or ns10's? Without having to buy some expensive solution like crane song, but also not loosing quality with a big knob or something like that. Just need to be able to switch between minimum 2 pair of monitors in an easy way that doesn't ruin my workflow or compromises my sound.

Thanks.

- Marconi

Re: Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:01 pm
by Wonks
Hi and welcome.

All been answered recently here: https://www.soundonsound.com/forum/view ... 16&t=63613

Re: Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:48 pm
by Luke W
For a separate monitor controller recommendations, Wonks' link is what you need. If it's just switching between two pairs of monitors you need, then the Apollo Twin MK2 has that capability built in, the manual will explain in detail how to achieve it.

Re: Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:03 pm
by CS70
marconicph wrote:Hi,

Im expanding my studio and need an extra pair of monitors for reference. Right now im working with an Apollo Twin mkll quad and focal twins. Any suggestions for the best way to set up, lets say a pair of active mix cubes or ns10's? Without having to buy some expensive solution like crane song, but also not loosing quality with a big knob or something like that. Just need to be able to switch between minimum 2 pair of monitors in an easy way that doesn't ruin my workflow or compromises my sound.

Thanks.

- Marconi

As in the thread that Wonks point to, the Drawmer is the favorite monitor controller. I have a less expensive M-Patch 2 and I've been using an Auratone with it (together with an integrated amp) for the last couple years with no problems (and no noise), so that's an option as well.

Re: Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 5:20 pm
by ConcertinaChap
There's quite a bit in the Sound on Sound review of the Twin Mk II as a monitor controller, so with that and the manual you should be OK, I think.

Incidentally I wouldn't bother with a pair of Mix Cubes, I'd get (in fact I did get) just one. Stereo balance you can check just as effectively on your main speakers and the single speaker will give you mono compatibility checking thrown in. Plus you save money!

CC

Re: Apollo Twin mkll monitor setup?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:12 pm
by Humble Bee
I have the Drawmer and I'm very happy!
I run my brand new Genelec 8010's and one Mixcube (on the mono sub out) and a pair of cheap old Logitech speakers.

Get a special stereo to mono summing cable made up and run one Mixcube from the alternative out on the Apollo.

Or get the Drawmer so you can connect a phone and a second stereo source as well. I run a turntable and whatever phones etc. next to the Apollo.