You are here

compressor pops during mixing questions

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

compressor pops during mixing questions

Postby mrlance2018 » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:10 pm

Hi Everyone,

I was lucky enough to get my hands on a few waves effects to try in my mixing and was eager to try out the waves V Comp effect mostly. It sounds pretty good on my audio clips so far except from one nasty little bug I can't seem to find a way to get around: When I have the effect in the track channel and once the audio clip starts in Studio One, there's an initial audio pop on a few of the tracks with the effect on it and I can't seem to find a way exactly to get around it, was curious if anyone knew if it's a setting or something on the compressor that might make it do that
mrlance2018
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:03 am

Re: compressor pops during mixing questions

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:20 pm

Have you tried a slower attack time?

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 22661
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: compressor pops during mixing questions

Postby mrlance2018 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:25 am

Hugh Robjohns wrote:Have you tried a slower attack time?

H
You know what I don't know if I did or not, I thought I set it to auto, I'll try manually setting to slow and see if that helps and report back :thumbup:
mrlance2018
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:03 am

Re: compressor pops during mixing questions

Postby paul tha other » Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:58 pm

try putting a wee fade in on the track...is there a cross fade tool in studio one..i cant remember..i used to have this problems not just with wave plugs when i used pro tools..thats how i fixed it
paul tha other
Frequent Poster
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 12:00 am
Location: scotland
http://www.myspace.com/onemanandalaptop

Re: compressor pops during mixing questions

Postby Jadoube » Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:19 pm

Sometimes you need to put a quick transient before the start of a song that will be edited out after mixdown to pre-load the compressor... but that is a pretty extreme situation. More related to the analog tape days.
Probably better handled with some level automation in a Daw. AKA "a wee fade"! :thumbup:
User avatar
Jadoube
Regular
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Calgary, Canada
David


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users