You are here

Yikes - can't sing in tune?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Yikes - can't sing in tune?

Postby BJG145 » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:01 am

Just spent about five minutes trying to record this simple harmony line, but I'm not the greatest singer in the world and I just couldn't seem to nail it. There was a particular note that always came out sounding slightly sharp, or slightly flat. I was starting to feel depressed that I was even worse than I thought.

Then I remembered...the track had Autotune on it. And it was set to filter out that note. Phew! ;)
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Yikes - can't sing in tune?

Postby blinddrew » Sun Feb 03, 2019 12:20 pm

Ha! The curse of autotune strikes again!
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7287
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Yikes - can't sing in tune?

Postby ManFromGlass » Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:05 pm

A friend was recording a folk singer who was at the beginning of her career in his studio and he secretly had autotune on all her vocal tracks because it was vital to say the least. The next time she came back she had developed major attitude about being such a fantastic singer and gave him major grief during the session about her superior skills and no need to retake any tracks.

The curse strikes again!
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2070
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00 am
Location: In the woods in Canada
 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users