You are here

Mixing improvements

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Mixing improvements

Postby kinglouis » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:26 pm

Hi all,

I've been a commercial composer for longer than I care to remember but I don't think my mixing is quite up to scratch. I didn't spend my youth making tea or splicing tape in a studio, and if I'm honest mixing doesn't come very naturally to me. I'm not terrible...but I could be much better.

Has anyone got any experience with the online courses? Or would it be more practical to ring a local studio/engineer whose work I like and grab a few days with him... All very possible but I wanted to listen to your two pennies worth please.

Cheers!

Alex
kinglouis
Regular

Re: Mixing improvements

Postby Eddy Deegan » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:18 pm

kinglouis wrote:Hi all,
I've been a commercial composer for longer than I care to remember but I don't think my mixing is quite up to scratch. I didn't spend my youth making tea or splicing tape in a studio, and if I'm honest mixing doesn't come very naturally to me. I'm not terrible...but I could be much better.

I'm much in the same position as you ;-)

There's a good book that a number of knowledgeable folks recommend here, and which I've found very useful also. It's "Mixing Secrets For The Small Studio" by Mike Senior: https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/mi ... all-studio

There's a related discussion at https://www.soundonsound.com/forum/view ... 0&p=587378
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Please consider supporting the SOS Forum Album project, raising money for charity via music created by forum members at https://sosforumalbum.bandcamp.com

Postby Wonks » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:25 pm