You are here

A mix to review!

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

A mix to review!

Postby Apebot » Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:46 pm

Hiya,

Inspired by the library music series written a few months back I wanted to try my hand at writing a series of tracks that could be used for picture - adverts and promotional content etc (my day job is as a freelance sound editor working in post-production, but written music as as hobby ever since I was able to)

https://soundcloud.com/adam_w1/1-full/s-9jETU

This mix to me has clarity, but feels a little flat - unadventurous - and i'm thinking that this is because it's been produced entirely in the box, i.e software synths and samples etc

I would be very curious to know other people's thoughts on this, and what other people might do to liven it up.

By the way, as references I tend to use Bonobo's music - Black Sands in particular, as to me at least, the mixes are always exciting, but also extremely detailed yet clear.

Many thanks,

Adam
Apebot
Poster

Re: A mix to review!

Postby awjoe » Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:23 am

It's excellent for what it is. I don't feel any of the flatness you're insecure about. However, if you want to know what I think would take it to a higher level, I'd say vocals coming in at that all-important 1.28 mark. Not upfront vocals, because the thing that makes this track wonderful is how present you've made the library sounds, and you've got to honor the tribe it belongs to. But real, sung vocals. No library stuff. Background, sure. Maybe even an interesting part. The human voice is one of the most engaging sounds in recorded music.

Of course, you'd have to re-do the arrangement, and since you posted it six months ago, I doubt you want to do that. But it's doable.
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Fringe member of the Party Pooper People's Party

Postby blinddrew » Sun Jun 30, 2019 3:39 pm