You are here

Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby CS70 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:44 am

dennisgamalej wrote:
Sam Spoons wrote:A decent pair of open back headphones like some AKG K702 would help, the Steinberg headphones you have are closed back and designed fro tracking rather than mixing.
Why do you think that open are better than closed?

As for the "why": in closed back headphones, the sound reflects from the "walls" of the cups with a very short delay (since the cups are very small), and the reflections tend to keep a good deal of energy (also since the cup itself is small).

That's the textbook definition of comb filtering - a type of interference between sound waves and their slightly-delayed, similar-energy reflections, that leads to certain frequencies will be canceled, other increased. So the timbre will be quite different from what you hear on speakers in a well-treated room.

Obviously manufacturers try to counter these effects but physics is physics so you can do only so much.

Open backs let the sound go, with much less reflections, and therefore the mix timbre will be more similar to how you hear on speakers.

You can use both types, but countering the filtering due to interference is harder as information is actually lost by the time the sound wave reaches you ears.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4360
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby dennisgamalej » Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:53 am

Guys one more question i dont like to open a new topic. Im looking also to buy a pc for recording mixing mastering... because my laptop is to bad for it. Are this specs okey for reaper and a loooot of waves plugins.


· Processor Xeon X5672 4 cores 3.2 -3.6 GHz Turbo Boost I7
· graphiccard Nvidia GTX 1060 3GB GDDR5
· 16Gb ram DDR3
· 500Gb HDD or i can choose SSD 120Gb
· Windows 10

thnx
dennisgamalej
Regular
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:42 pm

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby CS70 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 8:39 am

Check out the thread at https://www.soundonsound.com/forum/view ... 20&t=67844 as it's very much the same question
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4360
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby dennisgamalej » Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:43 am

Guys i was thinking the whole night today. Do you rlly need monitors i can buy them and just say to my neighbours sorry im learning how to mix and master or its also fine with headphones?my budget is maximum 200 euros for this.Which headphones or monitors would you recommend? Thnx guys for your help
dennisgamalej
Regular
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:42 pm

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby Wonks » Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:44 pm

I'd suggest Scan's refurbished AKG K702s. The K712s are very slightly better, but are a lot more money. I have both.

No point in spending more than you need.

Either this for £82.80: https://www.scan.co.uk/products/akg-k70 ... efurbished

Or for £59 if you can live without a box: https://www.scan.co.uk/products/akg-k70 ... nty-no-box

If you must have brand new, then still only £109. Much cheaper than they used to be after moving their manufacture out of Germany. https://www.scan.co.uk/products/akg-k70 ... k-over-ear
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9767
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby The Elf » Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:57 pm

Wonks wrote:Or for £59 if you can live without a box: https://www.scan.co.uk/products/akg-k70 ... nty-no-box
You can't go wrong for that money!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12903
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:50 pm

That is amazing. I can vouch they're fine phones too and I'm wondering whether to get a spare pair at that price.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7677
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
If you want me I'll be down on Sound on Sound on Sound.

Re: Is it possible to mix and master just with headphones?

Postby AMOS63 » Sun Oct 20, 2019 12:36 am

I used to use nothing but AKG K-240 headphones but now I use nothing but KRK Rokit monitors. They're not the best but they give me a more accurate representation of what's actually being recorded, or edited later on.
User avatar
AMOS63
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:44 pm

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users