You are here

Do I need a Gate for this?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:46 pm

Yes it does but the overheads pick up a more natural amount of resonance, the close mic picks up much more and need to be controlled or it sounds unnatural. A gate can help avoid muddiness. I prefer the sound of a kit miked with overheads and kick/snare mics but when the environment or nature of the band make that impossible close mics are necessary.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12190
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby ManFromGlass » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:07 am

I have a timpani sample with a huge ring off that I apply a plugin from boz digital called Transgressor. It gives fantastic control over the attack or in my case, the ring off.
https://www.bozdigitallabs.com/plugins/
I don’t know if Cakewalk is Mac or PC. I’m on a Mac. I’m not sure if Boz’s plugs are multi platform.
It sounds like you are looking for something along these lines. His YouTube’s are very clear about how simple his plugins are to use.
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2875
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00 am
Location: In the woods in Canada
 

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:21 am

Wonks wrote:Bu that sound is part of a real live drum kit unless they've got massive amounts of physical damping. On its own it sounds wrong. As part of a full kit it sounds natural and real.

I'll have a look at those and see if i can dampen (or kill) that trailing end. Really hate it to be honest.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:23 am

ManFromGlass wrote:I have a timpani sample with a huge ring off that I apply a plugin from boz digital called Transgressor. It gives fantastic control over the attack or in my case, the ring off.
https://www.bozdigitallabs.com/plugins/
I don’t know if Cakewalk is Mac or PC. I’m on a Mac. I’m not sure if Boz’s plugs are multi platform.
It sounds like you are looking for something along these lines. His YouTube’s are very clear about how simple his plugins are to use.

Just looking at that now. Seems like its just what I looking for. I see there is a trial version. Thanks for sharing bro :) :bouncy:
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby blinddrew » Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:32 am

The other thing you could try is a slow acting compressor. Set it to allow the attack and initial boom to come through but then clamp down on the tail. Can be a bit more subtle than a gate.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10172
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby The Elf » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:37 am

blinddrew wrote:The other thing you could try is a slow acting compressor. Set it to allow the attack and initial boom to come through but then clamp down on the tail. Can be a bit more subtle than a gate.
You could also follow it with a gate - the compressor in this context will help the gate do its job.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14259
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:43 am

blinddrew wrote:The other thing you could try is a slow acting compressor. Set it to allow the attack and initial boom to come through but then clamp down on the tail. Can be a bit more subtle than a gate.


I had given this a quick try but wasn't getting the hang of it. But its an option worth chasing though.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:55 am

The Elf wrote:
blinddrew wrote:The other thing you could try is a slow acting compressor. Set it to allow the attack and initial boom to come through but then clamp down on the tail. Can be a bit more subtle than a gate.
You could also follow it with a gate - the compressor in this context will help the gate do its job.


Sorry...my goof. I didn't read your post properly. No I didn't actually try this. So the gate followed by a compressor. OK..will give that a try. Thanks bro.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby The Elf » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:06 pm

TNGator wrote:
The Elf wrote:
blinddrew wrote:The other thing you could try is a slow acting compressor. Set it to allow the attack and initial boom to come through but then clamp down on the tail. Can be a bit more subtle than a gate.
You could also follow it with a gate - the compressor in this context will help the gate do its job.
Sorry...my goof. I didn't read your post properly. No I didn't actually try this. So the gate followed by a compressor. OK..will give that a try. Thanks bro.
Wrong way around.

In this context, a compressor with a slow attack/quick release will increase the dynamic range, and this can help you find a suitable threshold for the gate.

So, compressor first, gate second.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14259
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:29 pm

Don't lose sight of the fact that getting it right at source is always better than fixing it in the mix. Is there any reason why you can't simply use more appropriate tom samples?
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12190
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:45 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Don't lose sight of the fact that getting it right at source is always better than fixing it in the mix. Is there any reason why you can't simply use more appropriate tom samples?

To be honest Sam i wouldn't disagree with you at all in relation to the "fix it in the mix" mentality. I think we are all on that page for sure. Yes you're right, I'll keep looking for a better tom plug in. But so far, what Ive got in my downloads library all seems to have that trailing end. So if i dont find a better sound it would be good to know that I do at least have options of somehow sculpting the sound of what I have. If I can make the tom sound Im looking for I can always save it as a custom kit.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby Sam Spoons » Sat Nov 09, 2019 12:49 pm

:thumbup:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12190
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby ManFromGlass » Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:50 pm

another thing that might be driving you crazy is the pitch of the toms clash with the key of the tune. I often don’t realize this about my drum choices and then the drums bug me for a reason I can’t put my finger on.
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2875
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00 am
Location: In the woods in Canada
 

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:30 pm

ManFromGlass wrote:another thing that might be driving you crazy is the pitch of the toms clash with the key of the tune. I often don’t realize this about my drum choices and then the drums bug me for a reason I can’t put my finger on.

You know its a funny thing...but its something we never consider. We know we have to tune the guitar and the bass. We know we have to play those instruments in the right key and the right chords. But not being a drummer, tuning drums is something that never occurs to me. I do actually try to use the tuning knob on the drums sometimes. Sometimes it kills but other times it works. But sadly in this instance the tuning trick isnt doing it :( But great suggestion bro. Ta.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

Re: Do I need a Gate for this?

Postby TNGator » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:17 pm

TNGator wrote:
ManFromGlass wrote:another thing that might be driving you crazy is the pitch of the toms clash with the key of the tune. I often don’t realize this about my drum choices and then the drums bug me for a reason I can’t put my finger on.

You know its a funny thing...but its something we never consider. We know we have to tune the guitar and the bass. We know we have to play those instruments in the right key and the right chords. But not being a drummer, tuning drums is something that never occurs to me. I do actually try to use the tuning knob on the drums sometimes. Sometimes it kills but other times it works. But sadly in this instance the tuning trick isnt doing it :( But great suggestion bro. Ta.

Actually guys. Did anyone ever try taking a mounted tom sound you like and tune it down to simulate a floor tom? Its really the floor tom sound Im having problems with. The mounted tom single shots are ok by and large.
TNGator
Regular
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:55 pm
Southern kin y'all

PreviousNext