You are here

Help me fix my music

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Help me fix my music

Postby Dwmusic123 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:52 am

Hi guys,

I need some help fixing a piece of music.

I wanted to create a 'cinematic' dark and suspenseful type thing and am pretty happy with the idea and overall sounds, although I need help with mixing and mastering it.

This is my first time getting to this stage, and I recognize what's wrong with it - I just don't know how to fix it. The main thing I am trying to do is to get it to work on most sound systems, because it sounds great on my studio monitors (KRK rokit g4 5's), but played on anything else it sounds awful.

If anybody has some tips or advice on how to fix it, then it would be much appreciated!

Here a the link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lgo65nhqmmgtq ... D.wav?dl=0
(If needed I could also provide the Ableton Live file.)
Dwmusic123

Re: Help me fix my music

Postby Dave B » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:55 am

I'm not sure that there is any 'quick fix' that can be supplied here. I'd say that you have 2 options :

1. Get (pay) someone to mix the track.
2. Spend some time (pay) with a good teacher doing some 1 on 1 mixing basics to help you mix it yourself.

Mixing is a real art - there are some very talented people hereabouts and the thing is, they know when something sounds wrong - and that's half the battle. Mixing can take a lifetime and you still may not get there. But there are shortcuts - having lessons from someone like our own Zukan is an amazing shortcut as not only he can help you understand how to use the tools you have, but how to listen and understand when things are wrong. There is also the Elf who is equally clever. Both are also excellent communicators (with great rock n roll stories)..
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Postby jaminem » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:08 am