You are here

What's the most time-consuming part of your post workflow?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

What's the most time-consuming part of your post workflow?

Postby MiguelTanhi » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:52 pm

Hey! I've worked in the industry for a few years - i've read MANY posts on SOS but this is my first time posting. :thumbup:

I mostly record/engineer live shows, podcasts, and vocal recordings, but also dabble in radio and film. In all these fields, the post-production workflow is very similar, at least in terms of "cleaning up" the audio.

Depending on the project, I can have anywhere from 20-100+ clips that all need to go through noise reduction, EQ, normalization, dereverb etc. and they all have specific parameters that need to be factored in depending on the speaker's voice and recording conditions. Noise reduction, alone, can take 5 minutes per clip if there's not an obvious and adequate gap to pull a noise-sample from.

Other than online services/outsourcing - have y'all found any programs that will automate the workflow inside of audition? (...ex: Levelator)

What is the longest step in your post production workflow?

What plugins have helped you speed up your process most?

***Note*** I do most of my editing in Audition (on both win10prox64 and osx) and use a variety of open source plugins, as well as several made by Waves.
MiguelTanhi

Re: What's the most time-consuming part of your post workflow?

Postby MOF » Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:37 am

20-100+ clips that all need to go through noise reduction, EQ, normalization, dereverb etc. and they all have specific parameters that need to be factored in depending on the speaker's voice and recording conditions

It sounds like (excuse the pun) that these projects don’t employ sound recordists and boom operators.