You are here

Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby BassFacer67 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:16 am

I am getting a new keyboard and will be using Logic Pro X. He really recommends something with a number pad. Have you guys found it to be that useful? Or should I opt for more desk space?

Thanks,
Zach
BassFacer67
Poster
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:00 am

Re: Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby Uncle Freddie » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:26 am

No.

Who is he?
Uncle Freddie
Poster
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Detroit, USA

Re: Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:30 am

If you use markers a lot then yes, the numeric keys are quite useful in getting to the first 10 quickly. Otherwise no, not really. Mind, the difference in desk space is also not much of an issue and you might find the keypad useful in other contexts.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8647
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
We are normal and we want our freedom!.

Re: Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby Music Wolf » Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:15 am

If you later find one to be useful, and you have a spare USB port, then these are cheap and may be more flexible re location / desk space. I'm using one with my, non music, laptop but in the past I've used it as a remote for recording ('*' in Cubase).

Image
User avatar
Music Wolf
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1987
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Exiled to St Helens

Re: Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby IAA » Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:25 am

I swapped my iMac WiFi keyboard (without number pad) for my old usb Apple power Mac keyboard. It’s huge but has a number pad which I am using for screen sets and markers in my larger projects. BUT I managed for years without so I’d say unless you’re using lots of navigation then no.
IAA
Frequent Poster
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby Kwackman » Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:52 am

I wonder if it's a left hand/ right hand thing, but I would much prefer to work with a full keyboard with the number pad.
My mouse is on the LHS on the keyboard, so those number pad buttons are in easy reach with my free hand.
In My DAW I've set them up as key commands for useful (to me) quick commands.
Things like the "+" and "-" keys are zoom in/out, "1" and "2" are go to Left/Right locator, "4" and "5" are REW/FF etc. etc.
When I use my laptop, I find it quite restricting not having those numbers.

Obviously, YMMV.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Is Having a Numberpad *that* Useful for Logic Pro X?

Postby ManFromGlass » Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:33 pm

What they said. With Logic I like to use key commands a lot and am running out of combinations on the keyboard so will have to start using the numberpad. I’m a bit old school with Logic too - the zero key is my play, enter is stop, * is to record. The = key opens the type in the bar number function.

I find the numberpad useful in other programs for entering numbers quickly. Especially at tax time. gaaahk!
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2888
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00 am
Location: In the woods in Canada