You are here

Busses Question

Page 1 of 1

Busses Question

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:16 pm
by TheLegit
Hello all I am learning about setting up busses but was wondering if you bus into busses !

So for example say I have a main vocal bus and a harmonies bus - would the harmonies bus go into the vocal bus (and not the master) or would you leave that separate? What about vocal delays and reverbs - would all the busses go into those channels and not the master or would you send to the verb/ delay channels AND master :crazy:

Similarly I have set up a drums bus and drums verb bus, do those also run concurrently as well so both the drums buss and drums verb buss going separately to the master?

Re: Busses Question

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 7:34 pm
by blinddrew
Rule 1: There are no rules.

Busses are all about your ways of working, so set them up and use them however helps you.

Re: Busses Question

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:29 pm
by Sam Inglis
Well there is one rule, which is that it's not usually a good idea to route a bus to itself... though most DAWs will stop you from doing that.

Apart from that, do whatever works for you. There's usually no practical limit to how many 'layers' of bussing you can have.

Re: Busses Question

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:54 pm
by Moroccomoose
Busses are really just a means to organise lots of tracks. Historically there might have been a bit of convention because big console mixers would only have a specific number of bus channels... often 4 or 8. So you would have drums, guitars vocals etc. But in the software world there is no practical limit, so just do whatever best helps you keep things organised.

Re: Busses Question

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2020 4:08 pm
by TheLegit
Well one thing I've found it certainly helps on reducing plugin use after some crackly popping stuff going on !