You are here

Mastering for CD vs streaming

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Moderator: Moderators

Mastering for CD vs streaming

Postby Bill S » Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:20 pm

I have followed Ian Shepherd’s excellent series of videos for Sound on Sound. At home in my acoustically treated room I have a set of masters ready for streaming for my new album that I am really pleased with. Great dynamics, post-loudness wars, all checked on the loudness penalty website which tells me that Spotify et al won’t turn them down much. True Peak was set at -1dB, loudest parts around -10 LUFS with the rest of each track balanced around that.

Ian says “one master can rule them all”...I am going to produce a CD, but am under no pressure to compete in terms of loudness with commercial releases. So my temptation is to use my lovely dynamic streaming masters for the CD, and let people just turn up their stereo. On the other hand, if I do this, the CD will sound a LOT quieter compared to a commercial release.

What do you reckon? Compress to achieve another couple of dBs louder, and peak at 0.3dB? Leave alone? Any pointers gratefully received!
Bill S
Poster

Re: Mastering for CD vs streaming

Postby blinddrew » Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:45 pm

Personally speaking, I'd say leave as is. If I'm getting up to change the CD I can change the volume too. :)
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Postby RichardT » Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:53 pm

Yes, I agree with Drew.
RichardT
Frequent Poster

Postby Bill S » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:58 pm

Thanks guys, I’m erring that way too.
Bill S
Poster

Postby blinddrew » Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:30 pm

To my mind, there's so many different loudness levels across my CD collection it's not like I could choose a sensible value that isn't going to end up with me reaching for the volume control.
So embrace the dynamics. :)
blinddrew
Jedi Poster